Flight of the Shearwater (The Sturmtaucher Trilogy Book 2) by Alan Jones @alanjonesbooks #NewRelease #BookReview #FlightOfTheShearwater #SturmtaucherTrilogy

Flight of the Shearwater (The Sturmtaucher Trilogy Book 2) by [Alan Jones]


Flight of the Shearwater: Book 2 in the Sturmtaucher Trilogy,a powerful and compelling story of two families torn apart by evil.

With Poland divided between Hitler’s Germany and Stalin’s Union of Soviet Republics, the increasingly confident Third Reich flexes its military muscles northwards into Denmark and Norway, while the rest of Europe watches anxiously over its shoulders.

General Erich Kästner, in his key role in the Abwehr, is fast becoming aware of the mass expulsion of Jews and other minority groups from Germany and from northern Poland, to the new ghettos of the Generalgouverment area of southern Poland, and has an inkling of what the National Socialists’ have in mind for Europe’s Jews.

As Holland and Belgium fall, and the British are routed at Dunkirk, barely escaping across the channel, the seemingly impregnable France collapses under the Wehrmacht Blitzkrieg, sealing the fate of millions of Jews, now trapped under Hitler’s rule.

The Nussbaums, thwarted in their attempts to escape to Denmark, desperately seek other routes out of Germany but, one by one, they are closed off, and they realise they have left it all too late…


Flight of the Shearwater (The Sturmtaucher Trilogy Book 2)


This is the second book in The Sturmtaucher Trilogy. The first book, The Gathering Storm, hit my number 1 spot for the year, and now with the second book, it takes the best series of the year.

The story continues to follow the lives of two German families. General Erich Kästner, a high ranking German officer and his family. A hero, defending and protecting the Jewish family that has been in service for his family through generations. And the Nussbaums, a Jewish family who are now becoming fully aware that they have left their escape to safety far too late.

As Hitler’s troops march through Europe, their horrific assault on anyone that did conform with what they saw as perfection would be extinguished. Whereas in the first novel, it had been rumours of what the Gestapo did to anyone they took in for questioning, now becomes first-hand experiences. One particular Gestapo Officer takes a personal dislike to both the General and the Nussbaums, to the point that it becomes an obsession with him.

The General is in a position that allows him inside information about the plans of the Führer. He knows that his sons will be in great danger if Hitler marches on Russia, and so devises a plan to keep them and the Nussbaums children safe.

The book gradually eases you into the brutality of the story, but nothing could prepare you for this. I openly wept through whole chapters, not just of the horrific tortures but of the bravery of these people. It seems that war gives the perverse, and psychopaths, a free hand because what they did, a normal person couldn’t live with. Both families are split up, but some won’t make it back together.

This series has taken the author five years to research and write, it is all finished with just the final book to be released, and for as large as it is, I don’t think it will be enough for me. This author has given me a thirst that I can’t quench no matter how much there is. I can’t think how this will all come to an end. The research on so many topics in this book is tremendous, accurate and engrossing. Fantastic.

The first book was the equivalent of three books long, this is bigger still, at about five books. But don’t be put off. This series is superb.


Alan Jones

Alan Jones is a Scottish author with three gritty crime stories to his name, the first two set in Glasgow, the third one based in London. He has now switched genres, and his WW2 trilogy will be published in August 2021. It is a Holocaust story set in Northern Germany.

He is married with four grown up children and four wonderful grandchildren.

He has recently retired as a mixed-practice vet in a small Scottish coastal town in Ayrshire and is one of the RNLI volunteer coxswains on the local lifeboat. He makes furniture in his spare time, and maintains and sails a 45-year-old yacht in the Irish Sea and on the beautiful west coast of Scotland. He loves reading, watching films and cooking. He still plays football despite being just the wrong side of sixty.

His crime novels are not for the faint-hearted, with some strong language, violence, and various degrees of sexual content. The first two books also contain a fair smattering of Glasgow slang.

He is one of the few self-published authors to be given a panel at Bloody Scotland and has done two pop-up book launches at the festival in Stirling.

He has spent the last five years researching and writing the Sturmtaucher Trilogy.

Twitter @alanjonesbooks


Flight of the Shearwater (The Sturmtaucher Trilogy Book 2) by [Alan Jones]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.