Catch as Catch Can by Malcolm Hollingdrake @MHollingdrake @HobeckBooks #NewRelease #NewSeries #CatchAsCatchCan

Catch as Catch Can (The Merseyside Crime Series Book 1) by [Malcolm Hollingdrake]


A mutilated body apparently washed up on a windswept beach…

A violent criminal gang preys on moped riders across the area…

A teenage girl is desperate to escape sexual exploitation…

It’s a tough introduction to Merseyside for Detective Inspector April Decent, who’s just arrived from her native Yorkshire. Together with new colleague Skeeter Warlock, Decent quickly discovers there’s a sinister link between them all, one that will bring them face-to-face with some uncomfortable home truths.

Catch as Catch Can is the first in the Merseyside Crime Series from Malcolm Hollingdrake – bestselling author of the Harrogate Crime Series.

Praise for Malcolm Hollingdrake

‘Hollingdrake is to Harrogate what Rankin (Rebus) is to Edinburgh – able to build a realistic landscape to portray his characters against – I love the way the characters are evolving, the pace is good and the plots compelling – enjoy!’    John Robson      ★★★★★

‘I love words and this author is a master of them painting a picture you can fall right into’.    Lynda Checkley      ★★★★★


Catch as Catch Can (The Merseyside Crime Series Book 1) 


Malcolm Hollingdrake is no newcomer to writing best-selling police procedural thrillers that are impossible to put down, with his Harrogate Crime series being one of my all-time favourites. So I began this new series wondering if I would recognise any similarities, but they are very different.

It is a clean slate that Hollingdrake is working with as he introduces his new team of crime fighters headed by two strong female lead characters. Detective Inspector April Decent a sharp thinking Yorkshire woman that lets her colleagues know that they will toe the line and give her respect. Her sidekick is the incredible DI Skeeter Warlock, who knows how to look after herself both in, and out of the office.

This new series is in Merseyside, where the street crime seems riff with teens that seemed to have been weaned on violence. The young gangs rule the streets, but a new crime wave is hitting the roads, and the force these teens use is growing with every crime they commit. They are more organised than just random crimes. They know which roads have cameras, and they expertly avoid them.

The team are facing a rise in violent crimes, as the body of a woman is found on the beach. Great lengths have been taken to hinder anyone identifying her mutilated body. I enjoyed the fast pace of this story and the way the team were testing the boss just to see where their limits were and how much they could fool around. The teams’ dynamics were already changing and finding a level when the book ends. I am very excited about this series and can’t wait for the second book in the series.

I wish to thank the author for an e-copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly.


Malcolm Hollingdrake

You could say that the writing was clearly on the wall for someone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author, but to get to that point Malcolm Hollingdrake has travelled a circuitous route.

Malcolm worked in education for many years, even teaching for a period in Cairo before he started writing, a challenge he had longed to tackle for more years than he cares to remember.

He has written a number of successful short stories, has ten books now available and is presently writing the tenth crime novel set in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

Born in Bradford and spending three years at Ripon College, Malcolm has never lost his love for his home county, a passion that is reflected in the settings for all the DCI Bennett novels However, as well as the Bennett series he is writing a new series set in Merseyside.

Malcolm has enjoyed many hobbies including collecting works by Northern artists; the art auctions offer a degree of excitement when both buying and certainly when selling. It is a hobby he has bestowed upon DCI Cyril Bennett, the main character in his successful Bennett series.

Amazon page:

Twitter: @MHollingdrake

Catch as Catch Can (The Merseyside Crime Series Book 1) by [Malcolm Hollingdrake]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.