Not Having it All by Jennie Ensor @Jennie_Ensor #ReLaunch #PrizeDraw

Not Having It All: A wickedly funny, feel-good novel about love, lies and middle age by [Jennie Ensor]

ABOUT THE BOOK

“I read most of the book with a smile on my face; a fabulous bit of feel-good fiction” – The Book Magnet

This is the story of four middle-aged people who are definitely NOT having it all. Meet Bea, Kurt, Maddie and Colin.

Senior lecturer Bea Hudson juggles her job at the ‘Psycho Lab’ with looking after her demanding five-year-old daughter, badly-behaved dog and next-to-useless au pair. When her chief exec husband is sent overseas and she’s left without childcare, Bea turns to best friend Maddie for help.

Kurt, downing whiskies in his hotel room as he imagines what his wife is up to, is convinced that Bea is becoming a little too friendly with Maddie. With characteristic obsession he enlists his neighbour’s help in a secret surveillance operation.

Found-object artist Maddie longs for a child of her own with a man she can trust – and he must love cats.

Divorced, risk-averse Colin is a senior manager at ‘the nation’s number one pussy insurer’. When he meets Maddie in a lift he’s smitten, and resolves to displace Maddie’s feline companions on her sofa. But he starts to fear that Maddie sees him only as ‘a handy stud with a fat wallet’.

Can Bea and Kurt find happiness again? Can Maddie and Colin risk falling in love?

A story about love, relationships and second chances, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jojo Moyes, and anyone who loved Bridget Jones’ Diary or Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. If you enjoy novels with depth, heart and laugh-out-loud humour, you’ll love this razor-sharp romantic comedy like no other.

BUY LINK:

Not Having It All: A wickedly funny, feel-good novel about love, lies and middle age 

MY THOUGHTS

I missed this book on its first publication so very happy that I have caught it this time. At first, I wasn’t sure if the way that the dialogue was set out and frequent exchange of e-mails would work for me but it did and I became absorbed in the story.

The story centres around Neuroscientist Bea Hudson, and her relationships with her obsessively jealous husband Kurt, her four-year-old daughter Fran and her best friend Madeleine. When Kurt has to go away to work, he takes drastic action to keep his eye on his wife. Madeleine sees an opportunity to spend more time with Fran, who she fantasies about being her daughter. It seems that all three of the grown-ups are having mid-life crises issues to deal with.


Jenny Ensor, the author, has this way of bringing these characters to life in my head, including their distinctive voices. I particularly liked Katya, or Katie as the family call her. Katie is Polish, and a sort of Aupair with extras’ that include walking the dog. This character has been cast to perfection, including the accent. I can still hear her in my mind! Combined with this accent and the situations that she gets into, they had me laughing so much.


The supporting characters are just as memorable, from the nosy neighbour, that turns full-on PI, to the crazy psychiatrist, it is a page-turning pleasure to read. It catches all the crazy things that people do when they hit a mid-life crisis. The uncertainties and the panic, when they realise that changes in them, mean that some doors in the past are now firmly closing.


Each of the characters faces their insane grab at youth or putting to rights something while they have the chance. Such clever stories and brilliant execution. I cringe when I think of that era relating to myself! A fabulous book!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jennie Ensor: Biography

A Londoner with Irish heritage, Jennie Ensor began her writing career as a journalist, obtaining a Masters in Journalism (winning two awards) and covering topics from forced marriage to accidents in the mining industry. She isn’t afraid to tackle controversial issues in her novels, either: Islamic terrorism, Russian gangsters and war crimes in her debut BLIND SIDE (a psychological mystery blended with a love story), domestic abuse and sexual exploitation in her second, THE GIRL IN HIS EYES.

Her third novel NOT HAVING IT ALL, a relationship comedy, is an excursion to the brighter side of life. A new edition was published in January 2021.

Ms Ensor’s poetry has appeared in many publications including Poetry Salzburg Review, Ink Sweat and Tears. Her poem ‘Lost Connection’ placed second in the Breakout Prose category of the Fish Lockdown Prize in 2020.

In her spare time (?) she reads, walks and attempts twice-weekly yoga. She regularly cycles the punishing hills of north London and at the end of the day enjoys collapsing with a bar of chocolate/glass of strong alcohol in front of a TV crime drama.

Author links

Author website: https://jennieensor.com Author Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/JennieEnsorAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Jennie_Ensor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jennieensor/

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jennie-

Ensor/e/B01IXCE0HU/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

PRIZE DRAW

Giveaway: A prize draw to celebrate the relaunch will be held at 6pm on 23 February on my FB page  https://www.facebook.com/JennieEnsorAuthor (the giveaway post is pinned to the page).

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.