Secrets in the Dark (Black Winter #2) by Darcy Coates @darcyauthor @Sourcebooks @midaspr #BookReview #KindleUnlimted #BlogTour

Firstly I wish to thank Amber Choudhary of Midas Public Relations for inviting me on the Blog Tour for Secrets in the Dark by Darcy Coates.

ABOUT THE BOOK

USA Today bestselling author Darcy Coates proves herself a master of dystopian post-apocalyptic fiction with Book 2 in the haunting Black Winter Series. The stillness comes for everyone…This propulsive, suspenseful series is:Perfect for fans of V.C. Andrews and Peng ShepardFor lovers of horror and paranormal thrillers

Nowhere is safe. Clare and Dorran scramble to secure their temporary sanctuary from the hungry things outside. The hollow ones, ravenous beings unaffected by the violent winter storms, patiently lie in wait. It’s not a matter of if Clare and Dorran are attacked, but when. And Clare knows she’ll have to venture out into the night soon…

Somewhere far away, Clare’s sister Beth is trapped, with only hours to live. Hundreds of miles separate the sisters and the land between them is infested with monstrosities. There’s a bitter deadline to this rescue mission, but Clare won’t lose Beth without a fight.

She knows she can’t survive the trip by herself. But even with Dorran at her side, can she truly hope to face the ruthless predators and make it to her desperate sister before it’s too late? They all may be lost to the dark winter.

BUY LINK:

Secrets in the Dark (Black Winter Book 2) 

MY THOUGHTS

Although this is a series I am coming into it on book 2, I will read the first book soon. What a talent this author is! Honestly to be able to write a book that I couldn’t leave alone with just four characters that can actually talk to together is pretty awesome. The scene has already been set with the two lead characters being Clare and Dorran. I hadn’t a clue how they got together and only knew that this was Dorran’s family home.

The world is overrun with some sort of mutated humans who have been infected by some sort of virus. The descriptions of these creatures are jaw-dropping, each one has its own uniqueness. Multiple fingers, grotesque features and with just one aim to try to satisfy their hunger for any living creature, human or animal, with a little cannibalism thrown in for its own kind.

The story is one of a rescue mission to get to Clare’s sister Beth before she runs out of oxygen or succumbs to the flesh-eating creatures. It is one tension fuelled obstacle after another. Oh boy, if the creatures weren’t about then the elements just hindered every step.

What a fabulous story this is! I loved both of the main characters, Dorran with his secluded life before the apocalypse and Clare who had been raised by her sister Beth. Beth at the moment was only a voice at the end of a walkie talkie but still a prime character in the story.

There are answers to so many questions in this story. An absolute gem of a read. I am going to get stuck straight into the third book in this series. Truly awesome!

I wish to thank the publisher and Midaspr for a copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Darcy is the USA Today Bestselling author of Hunted, The Haunting of Ashburn House, Craven Manor, and more than a dozen horror and suspense titles.

She lives on the Central Coast of Australia with her family, cats, and a garden full of herbs and vegetables.

Darcy loves forests, especially old-growth forests where the trees dwarf anyone who steps between them. Wherever she lives, she tries to have a mountain range close by.

Twitter: @darcyauthor

darcycoates.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.