The Trials of Koli, The Rampart Trilogy, Book 2 by M R Carey #BlogTour @michaelcarey191 #TheTrialsOfKoli @orbitbooks #NetGalley @Tr4cyF3nt0n

Firstly I wish to thank Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for inviting me on the Blog Tour for The Trials of Koli by M R Carey

The Trials of Koli: The Rampart Trilogy, Book 2 by [M. R. Carey]


The journey through M. R. Carey’s ‘immersive, impeccably rendered world’ (Kirkus) continues in The Trials of Koli – the second book of the Rampart trilogy.

Koli has been cast from his village and into the strange and deadly forest beyond. But he heard a story, once. A story about lost London, and the mysterious tech of the old times that was there. And if Koli can find it, there may be a way for him to redeem himself – by saving what’s left of humanity.


The Trials of Koli: The Rampart Trilogy, Book 2


The second story carries on as seamlessly as the turn of a page and it wasn’t long before my brain had adjusted to the quirky play on words of items and places that had been distorted by word of mouth and time. The story branches into two with half the story following Koli, Ursala and Cup who are making their way to London via a radio signal and Spinner, a young woman from the village Koli had been expelled from and someone that he had been really close to.

The story bounces back and forth between Koli and Spinner, with cliff hangers throughout the book. Each place is like its own little kingdom with its own set of rules and fashion styles that let you know which tribe they belong to. Some welcoming but others quite deadly! Even the trees and flowers are mutations of what they had been formerly before the thing that had changed the world, destroyed the towns and buried the technology.

The knowledge of Tech and how to use it gives a person status universally in every place they came across. Monono, is a piece of tech that attached its self to Koli as much as he ‘took it’, a piece of tech that will be easily recognisable with readers, as well as her being one of my favourite characters in both books. ‘She’ is as real as any living character, sassy, cheeky, funny and super intelligent.

Each township brings its own unique characters and way of life. A book that just entertains from cover to cover but one that you have to read the whole series to follow the story. The old tech makes for fascinating reading with the ways it is used in the story. It isn’t very often used as it was intended because it simply isn’t understood.

The third and final story will be available from March next year, it’s going to be a long winter, I can’t wait. Just awesome!

Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for an e-copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly.

The Rampart Trilogy


M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts was a word-of-mouth bestseller and is now a major motion picture based on his own screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on Lucifer, Hellblazer and X-Men. His creator-owned series The Unwritten appeared regularly in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels, games, radio plays, and TV and movie screenplays to his credit.


Twitter: @michaelcarey191


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.