Nine Elms (Kate Marshall #1) by Robert Bryndza @RobertBryndza @LittleBrownUK @BooksSphere #NineElms #KateMarshall

43909064. sy475


From the breakthrough international bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice, a breathtaking, page-turning novel about a disgraced female detective’s fight for redemption. And survival.

Kate Marshall was a promising young police detective when she caught the notorious Nine Elms serial killer. But her greatest victory suddenly became a nightmare.

Fifteen years after those catastrophic, career-ending events, a copycat killer has taken up the Nine Elms mantle, continuing the ghastly work of his idol.

Enlisting her brilliant research assistant, Tristan Harper, Kate draws on her prodigious and long-neglected skills as an investigator to catch a new monster. But there’s much more than her reputation on the line: Kate was the original killer’s intended fifth victim . . . and his successor means to finish the job.


Nine Elms: The thrilling first book in a brand-new, electrifying crime series (Kate Marshall)


The second book in this series is coming out in November so I wanted to make sure that I didn’t get left behind. I had only heard really brilliant things about this book and so with that and the fact that I loved the author’s previous books this already had a lot to live up to. Oh my, I was not disappointed!

The story begins back in the 1990s with a young Kate Mitchell at the beginning of her career as a detective constable, eager to please and a keen eye to note anything that just doesn’t sit right. There is a killer brutally savaging young women in the area and the body of his fourth victim has just been found. Detective Chief Inspector Peter Conway is heading the new investigation and has just dropped her at home. Life is going to change for so many people and begin for someone else.

The story jumps fifteen years to 2010 when Kate is working as a university lecturer when she receives a letter asking for her help from a couple whose daughter went missing in 1990. Could this be another victim of the infamous ‘Nine Elms Cannibal’? Together with her young assistant, Tristan, they begin to dig into a past that had destroyed her life. Her nightmares really do resurface when a copy cat killer begins a new killing spree.

Kate is a complex character with a mountain of emotional turmoil that is never far away from spilling over. Does a monster make another monster or is it already an imprint on DNA? There are some corking characters in this book, Enid is the cannibal’s mother but believe me, being petrified of someone has nothing to do with their age. She is one character that made my blood run cold on every page.

Kate’s mother is another strong character in the story. She has played a massive part in Kate’s dark days and keeps tight reigns on the family. A lady to be admired in so many ways for the part she has played. She is very much the glue that keeps them together.

This is an edgy read throughout with gruesome murders and killers that literally had a taste of their victims’ terror. What a terrific series this is going to be!


Robert Bryndza

Robert Bryndza began his career training at the Guildford School of Acting. He spent six years as an actor, doing all kinds of strange jobs in between, which was the perfect training for being an author. He began to write during a long period of unemployment, first comedy sketches, a show which he took to the Edinburgh Festival, and then four romantic comedy novels which he self-published, and they became Amazon charts bestsellers selling over 250,000 copies.

His debut crime thriller The Girl in the Ice was the first book in his Detective Erika Foster series. It has sold over 1 million copies in the English language, and won the Dead Good Reader Award for best kick-ass female character at the 2016 Harrogate Crime Festival. Erika Foster has gone on to kick-ass in five further books; The Night Stalker, Dark Water, Last Breath, Cold Blood and Deadly Secrets. The series was twice nominated in Goodreads Choice Awards (Mystery and Thriller category) in 2016 for The Girl in the Ice, and in 2017 for Last Breath. Robert’s books have sold over 3 million copies in the English language, and have been translated into 29 languages.

Nine Elms, the first book in his new Kate Marshall private detective series was published late in 2019 and was an instant Amazon USA no.1 bestseller, an Amazon UK top 10 bestseller and topped bestselling charts around the world. The second book in the series, Shadow Sands, will be published in November 2020. Robert is British and lives in Slovakia.

TWITTER: @RobertBryndza

43909064. sy475

4 thoughts on “Nine Elms (Kate Marshall #1) by Robert Bryndza @RobertBryndza @LittleBrownUK @BooksSphere #NineElms #KateMarshall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.