Arthur Rex Brittonum by Tim Walker @timwalker1666 #AlternativeHistory #BookReview #ArthurRexBrittonum #NewRelease

Arthur Rex Brittonum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 5) by [Tim Walker]

ABOUT THE BOOK

FROM THE DECAY OF POST-ROMAN BRITAIN, ARTHUR SEEKS TO UNITE A TROUBLED LAND

Arthur Rex Brittonum (‘King of the Britons’) is an action-packed telling of the King Arthur story rooted in historical accounts that predate the familiar Camelot legend.
Britain in the early sixth century has reverted to tribal lands, where chiefs settle old scores with neighbours whilst eyeing with trepidation the invaders who menace the shore in search of plunder and settlement.

Arthur, only son of the late King Uther, has been crowned King of the Britons by the northern chiefs and must now persuade their counterparts in the south and west to embrace him. Will his bid to lead their combined army against the Saxon threat succeed? He arrives in Powys buoyed by popular acclaim at home, a king, husband and father – but can he sustain his efforts in unfamiliar territory? It is a treacherous and winding road that ultimately leads him to a winner-takes-all clash at the citadel of Mount Badon.

Tim Walker’s Arthur Rex Brittonum picks up the thread from the earlier life of Arthur in 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum, but it can be read as a standalone novel.

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Rex Brittonum.

BUY LINK:

Arthur Rex Brittonum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 5)

MY THOUGHTS

What an incredible journey this has been. Tim Walker opened my eyes to reading historical stories and I have grown to love them. The incredible battles that were fought, the horrors that they saw daily and the way that the hardship of life made the people old way before their time.

Arthur’s journey continues in this book as he is full of life and spirit trying to band together with the tribal lands that make up Britain to push back any future invaders from the seas. Arthur had escaped from being imprisoned by his half brother who had claimed the throne. Now Arthur has been anointed King but must defend himself from his half-brother who is waging war against him.

Merlyn isn’t far from his apprentice King Arthur and is extremely influential on the decisions he makes. Merlyn is far from the good old guy that makes everything perfect. He can conjure some pretty potent and intoxicating suggestions to an Arthur who looks up to this Druid.

The church plays a big part in how things are done so having a Druid being an influential whisperer in the King’s ear doesn’t go down well. This story has all the nitty-gritty bits in it, including how the once happily married Arthur becomes under the spell of Guinevere that puts her on the trail to become Queen.

The story portrays two sides to Arthur, one a happily married man with a son while the other seems to live in a daze and lose his way. I have been enthralled by this series, loved each one as it has come along and felt so much richer for reading them all, although each can be read as a story in it own right.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tim Walker is an independent author based in the UK.

His latest book is ‘Arthur, Rex Brittonum’, a re-imagining of the King Arthur story, published in June 2020. This is book five in his historical series, A Light in the Dark Ages, and follows on from 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum.

Book one in the series is ‘Abandoned’ (second edition 2018), followed by ‘Ambrosius: Last of the Romans’ (2017), then book three, ‘Uther’s Destiny’ (2018). Series book covers are designed by Canadian graphic artist, Cathy Walker. The aim of A Light in the Dark Ages book series is to connect the end of Roman Britain to elements of the Arthurian legend, through researched history, presenting an imagined/alternative history of Britain in the early Dark Ages.

Tim lives near Windsor – close to the River Thames – the inspiration for his first book of short stories, ‘Thames Valley Tales’ (2015). In September 2017 he published a second book of short stories, ‘Postcards from London’. These stories draw on the local history and current affairs of these places where the author has lived and worked. A new collection of poems and short fiction, Perverse, was published in April 2020.

His first novel was a political thriller, ‘Devil Gate Dawn’, that received pre-publication exposure on the Kindle Scout programme in March/April 2016. It found a wide readership due to its unnerving predictions of a post-Brexit Britain beset by political turmoil under King Charles III’s rule and buckling under attacks from terrorist groups – and a dystopian portrayal of life in Trump America.

In early 2017 he published his first children’s book, co-authored with his daughter, Cathy – ‘The Adventures of Charly Holmes’. Another adventure story was published in 2018 – ‘Charly & The Superheroes’. Rumour has it that a third adventure will be coming out later in 2020.

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES AND BUY LINKS:

Paperback

Abandoned (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 1)

Kindle Edition

Ambrosius: Last of the Romans (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 2)

Kindle Edition

Uther’s Destiny (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 3)

Arthur Dux Bellorum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 4) Kindle Edition

Arthur Dux Bellorum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 4)

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website: http://timwalkerwrites.co.uk

Twitter: timwalker1666

Facebook: https://facebook.com/timwalkerwrites

AmazonPage: https://Author.to/TimWalkerWrites

Goodreads: https://goodreads.com/author/show/678710.TimWalker

Arthur Rex Brittonum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 5) by [Tim Walker]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.