Blind Witness (Book one of the Charters’ Mysteries Series) by Vicki Goldie @vicki_goldie @annecater @VictorinaPress #BlindWitness #RandomThingsTours #Debut #KindleUnlimed

Firstly I wish to thank Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me on the Blog Tour for Blind Witness.

Blind Witness (The Charters Mysteries Book 1) by [Goldie, Vicki]

BOOK DESCRIPTION

In 1922 a blind WWI veteran and former intelligence officer attends a weekend with his aristocratic wife and her family at a country house in the New Forest, Hampshire. Fourteen people sit down to dinner on the Friday night; by the end of the weekend, there are two murders, an attempted murder and a suicide.
This is book one in a series of humorous murder mysteries and introduces young sleuths The Hon Melissa Charters and her war veteran husband Major Alisdair Charters. The pair collaborate using Melissa’s powers of observation and Alisdair’s old skills gained in the Secret Intelligence Service to investigate the events unfolding over the weekend.
A murder mystery, with a spy plot, told from many different points of view in the tradition of Simon Brett, Kerry Greenwood and M C Beaton. Will our investigators discover who is behind the murders?

BUY LINK:

Blind Witness (The Charters Mysteries Book 1)

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

It is so very difficult to get a niche in the market to make a book stand out from the rest and well Vicki Goldie seems to have done that. Set in the 1920s amongst the upper classes at a family gathering in the countryside, fourteen people arrive but not all of them will make it back out alive.

This is a real whodunnit read that I couldn’t help but become invested in. The two characters that steal the show are The Honourable Melissa Charters and her husband Major Alisdair Charters. Alisdair is a war veteran who was badly injured in the war and is now totally blind. He was part of the Secret Intelligence Service so the skills that he learnt through the war just seem to have intensified. Alisdair is a strikingly handsome man and his wife beautiful. Hours of working on the simplest daily life tasks are paramount to him if he is to rejoin high society and the lifestyle they had.

Whoever is committing the murders has a secret to keep and is willing to permanently quieten any family members that threaten to expose them, in the most brutal way. As fear spreads in the family the Charters form a perfect team to unearth the guilty party.

I loved the detail which the author wrote about Alisdair, who to the world wanted himself to be seen and treated like any other man but inside he had periods of panic as the killer seemed to taunt him at every opportunity.  It made me look at things in a different light and try to think like Alisdair. My skin tingled when Alisdair could feel the killer in a room and I felt the frustration like him that the killer was openly enjoying every minute.

Vicki Goldie took me inside Alisdair’s mind where a different man lived and it really touched me, skilful and compassionate writing at its best. It is combined then with her passion for the period, elegantly brought to life with decor and clothing and just made a brilliant story for the era.

This is a first in a series of books about this new super-sleuthing couple, who bring with them that little bit of extra sparkle. So looking forward to what the next case they find themselves trust into brings.

HERE, IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Vicki Goldie Author pic.jpg

Vicki worked as a Chartered Librarian for the Royal National Institute of Blind People and then for the past 19 years in public libraries in Bournemouth and Poole. There she enjoyed arranging and attending writing courses and author events, including such luminaries as Fay Weldon and Peter James. With the Reading Agency and other librarians round the country she reviewed and selected books for The Radio Two Book Club. All the time writing away in her spare time.

Born in California but brought up in England she was introduced to the Golden Age of crime authors at an early age by her mother. She is married to a blind physiotherapist, and it is from his mother, born in a large country house in Devon (now a hotel), educated by governess and with a cut-glass voice like the Queen, that she absorbed real-life stories about the twenties and thirties.

She has always had a fascination with the Art Deco period and the Golden Age of crime writing. She has been filling her house with Art Deco-inspired artefacts and clothing for 40 years.

Blind Witness is her debut novel and is the beginning of the Charters Mysteries Series featuring Major Alasdair Charters and The Honourable Melissa Charters.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: @vicki_goldie

 

Blind Witness BT Poster .jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Blind Witness (Book one of the Charters’ Mysteries Series) by Vicki Goldie @vicki_goldie @annecater @VictorinaPress #BlindWitness #RandomThingsTours #Debut #KindleUnlimed

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.