The Lost Ten by Harry Sidebottom @ZaffreBooks @Tr4cyF3ntOn#TheLostTen #RomanFiction #histfic #TheLostTen

Firstly I wish to thank Tracy Fenton of Compulsive readers for inviting me on the Blog Tour for The Lost Ten by Harry Sidebottom

BOOK DESCRIPTION

A desperate rescue attempt deep behind enemy lines . . . a nail-biting adventure with all the hard-edged appeal of Bravo Two Zero

When Valens, a junior officer in the Roman Army, joins a crack squad of soldiers on a dangerous mission, little does he know what’s in store for him. Tasked with rescuing the young Prince Sasan, who has been imprisoned in the impenetrable Castle of Silence, the troops set out across Mesopotamia and into the mountains south of the Caspian Sea.

Deep in hostile territory, inexperienced Valens finds himself in charge. And as one by one his soldiers die or disappear, he begins to suspect that there is a traitor in their midst, and that the rescue is fast becoming a suicide mission.

Valens must marshal this disparate group of men and earn their respect, before it’s too late . . .

From the author of The Last Hour comes another fast-paced thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. For readers of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

‘Sidebottom conjures up the landscape and its people brilliantly . . . I could have journeyed with Valens and his crew for another 1,000 pages.’ The Times

‘This exhilarating action thriller storms along, reinforced by the author’s thorough knowledge of the Roman army.’ The Sunday Express

BUY LINK:

The Lost Ten: A fast-paced and action-packed Roman historical thriller

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

This is one really cracking read with a very modern feel situation set in the very distant past. I have over the last 18 months being venturing into novels about Roman times but also love my thrillers. I am delighted to say that the author, Dr Harry Sidebottom has combined both superbly, giving a real feel for the Roman period in the 3rd century with the added heroes of the day made up of a super team of ten specialised commander type rescue squad.

The mission is to rescue ten-year-old Prince Sasan of Persia that is being held a prisoner in the Castle of Silence. Now, this isn’t a drop in and get out fast mission, there aren’t any helicopters or speed boats. The journey takes the ten men over many countries, meeting hostile and friendly people, extreme weather conditions and traitors among themselves that begins in AD 264 to 265.

The multi-cultural band of men all carry their own inner baggage that makes them who they are. Once I got my head around who was who I settled quickly into the story. I loved the surprising heroes that took root and matured in the story. This is an exciting read full of action with a solid storyline, memorable characters and a brilliant conclusion.  I would love to read more books like this.

Many thanks to the publisher for a copy of this book, which I have also bought for my kindle.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Dr Harry Sidebottom is Lecturer in Ancient History at Merton College, Oxford, and part-time lecturer in Classics and Ancient History at the University of Warwick. He has written for and contributed to many publications, including Classical Review, Journal of Roman Studies, and War and Society in the Roman World.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Homepage V2

Harry Sidebottom 2 Oct.png

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.