Day is Done by Robin Roughley @RobRoughley #DSMarnieHammond #KindleUnlimited #BookReview

Day Is Done (Marnie Hammond Book 3) by [Roughley, Robin]


For Marnie Hammond the fact that Clarissa Wold is in hospital under guard is a blessing. At last Wold will be held accountable for the crimes she committed with her monstrous brother, sickening crimes spanning over twenty years and leaving nothing but the bones and skulls of the innocent behind.
Wold holds the key to what happened to Marnie’s younger sister sixteen years earlier, and she is determined to get to the truth no matter what the cost.
Though on one blood-drenched night all that will change, leaving Marnie in a world of turmoil as she realises that there are others out there in the shadows who want to silence Wold permanently before she reveals her sickening secrets.
Suddenly, Marnie is plummeted into the depths of despair when she realises that finding out what happened to Abby is going to be harder than she could ever have imagined.
To make matters worse she is being questioned about her actions, and, as she fights her way to the truth, she becomes convinced that there are those in the force who want to end her career once and for all.
Though she soon comes to realise that losing her job is the least of her problems, when someone emerges from the shadows, a man with ice-cold blue eyes and a shock of white hair, a man whose reputation precedes him, a stone-cold killer who offers to help Marnie.
In the crucible of hate and madness that follows, she must decide which way to turn, can she trust a known killer, a ghost who kills with impunity, or will she follow the solitary path with enemies closing in on all sides?


Day Is Done (Marnie Hammond Book 3)


This is the third and final book in this stunning series.

DS Marine Hammond is a real complex character that is still haunted by guilt from her childhood and still chasing ghosts to find out answers about her abducted sister. But finally, after 16 years she is hoping to get some answers and justice, someone else has other ideas though and what Marnie thought was the conclusion to the past was only another horrendous chapter in her life opening up.

I was well excited to finally be reading this book knowing all too well that I would, at last, have all the answers. This really didn’t disappoint, this author’s books never disappoint. I feel like I have just done ten rounds in a boxing ring, I am emotionally wiped out, battered and bruised and speechless. From opening the cover this already intense story just kept spiking even more. I was even more made up when characters from one of the author’s other series made an appearance. I had to giggle away at what Marnie thought of them, seeing them as outsiders.

Marnie is faced with tough choices if she is going to get the answers she needs, which means not always working within the law.

Roughley’s writing is unpredictable which leaves me battered, he certainly isn’t gentle with his characters or readers but what you get is what could happen, not what you want to happen. The writing is graphic, the pain is real, the emotions twisted. The ending perfection.

Highly recommended series.



Robin Roughley lives in Wigan in the the North West of England (God’s coal bunker) the mythical land of the pie, clogs that spark and whippets on pieces of string.
He is the author of twenty six novels twenty of which feature the force of nature that is DS Lasser.
He also writes the haunting DS Marnie Hammond series and Stormcock the first in the explosive Plymouth series, plus Pinches of Salt the first in the dark comedy series featuring TV presenter Charlie Roebuck.
Plus Imprint of the Past a standalone novel of love and loss.
If you love your crime fiction crammed with square jawed heroes driving flash cars and glorious women who shimmer with inner light, then the novels are probably not for you.
However, if you prefer your characters to be flawed, with a sprinkling of dandruff and old acne scars,the plots to be laced with dark humour, then give them a try.


Day Is Done (Marnie Hammond Book 3) by [Roughley, Robin]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.