Needlemouse by Jane O’Connor @EburyPublishing #DebutNovel #GeneralHumourousFiction

Needlemouse: The uplifting bestseller featuring the most unlikely heroine of 2019 by [O'Connor, Jane]

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Time to come out of hibernation…

Sylvia Penton has been hibernating for years, it’s no wonder she’s a little prickly…

Sylvia lives alone, dedicating herself to her job at the local university. On weekends, she helps out at a local hedgehog sanctuary because it gives her something to talk about on Mondays – and it makes people think she’s nicer than she is.

Only Sylvia has a secret: she’s been in love with her boss, Professor Lomax, for over a decade now, and she’s sure he’s just waiting for the right time to leave his wife. Meanwhile she stores every crumb of his affection and covertly makes trouble for anyone she feels gets in his way.

But when a bright new PhD candidate catches the Professor’s eye, Sylvia’s dreams of the fairy tale ending she has craved for so long, are soon in tatters, driving her to increasingly desperate measures and an uncertain future.

Sylvia might have been sleep walking through her life but things are about to change now she’s woken up…

A quirky, charming uplifting novel perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and Sarah Haywood’s The Cactus. The feelgood bestseller about unrequited love, loneliness and the redemptive qualities of hedgehogs featuring the most unlikely heroine of 2019.

BUY LINK:

Needlemouse: The uplifting bestseller featuring the most unlikely heroine of 2019

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

I felt that I had already met Sylvia, I think everyone has, the lady who was going to settle down maybe next year, get married one day and have a family one day but all of a sudden the one days have all become yesterday and time has gone by. Well, Sylvia had waited for years for her boss to make that final move after he had clearly made his feelings known at one of the office Xmas parties. She had pride in his achievements and protected him every day from the riff-raff who tried to make it into his office.

Sylvia was all about what people thought of her even if it wasn’t the real her. When a new lady arrives on the scene Sylvia decides to take drastic action and well the story becomes pretty entertaining. I must admit that at times I did have to read just with one eye as I cringed so much. This was pure gold, a super debut.

This is one good feel read that is perfect entertainment at home or on holiday.  I didn’t much care for this spiteful spinster, to begin with but well she did make me laugh. It was just the determination and blinkered serious approach that I giggled at. The lengths she went to but with each page, I thawed and mellowed to this lady and loved her to bits by the end.

There are some brilliant characters, all readable, predictable and very entertaining, a super uplifting read, beautifully written and perfect title.

I wish to thank NetGalley for an e-copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jane O’Connor is a former primary school teacher turned academic and writer. She was born and brought up in Surrey and lived in London until she moved to the West Midlands in her mid-thirties. Jane’s PhD was about child stars and she is now a Reader at Birmingham City University where she researches children’s experiences of celebrity, media and everyday life. Jane lives in Sutton Coldfield with her husband and two young sons in a house full of pirates, dinosaurs, superheroes and lots of books. She really likes all animals, especially hedgehogs.

Needlemouse: The uplifting bestseller featuring the most unlikely heroine of 2019 by [O'Connor, Jane]

 

4 thoughts on “Needlemouse by Jane O’Connor @EburyPublishing #DebutNovel #GeneralHumourousFiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.