Where the Truth Lies (DI Ridpath #1) by MJ Lee @WriterMJLee @canelo_co #crimefiction #WhereTheTruthLies #BlogReview #ManchesterNoir #BookReview

Where The Truth Lies
BOOK DESCRIPTION

The case was closed. Until people started dying… The unputdownable first DI Ridpath crime thriller from bestseller MJ Lee

A killer in total control. A detective on the edge. A mystery that HAS to be solved.

DI Thomas Ridpath was on the up in the Manchester CID: a promising young detective whose first case involved capturing a notorious serial killer. But ten years later he’s recovering from a serious illness and on the brink of being forced out of the police. Then people start dying: tortured, murdered, in an uncanny echo of Ridpath’s first case.

As the investigation intensifies, old bodies go missing, records can’t be found and the murder count grows. Caught in a turf war between the police and the coroner’s office, digging up skeletons some would rather forget, Ridpath is caught in a race against time: a race to save his career, his marriage… And lives.

When a detective goes missing everything is on the line. Can Ridpath close the case and save his colleague?

WHERE THE TRUTH LIES is a nail-biting crime thriller, full of breathtaking twists and turns in this fast-paced and extraordinarily original novel. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Faith Martin
BUY LINK:

Where The Truth Lies: The most gripping crime thriller of the year (DI Ridpath Crime Thriller Book 1)
HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

I love to begin a new series and went on to read book 2, Where the Dead Fall, straight away. DI Ridpath is not at his best when you meet him as he is part of a new trial for a drug to treat cancer patients. He has just returned to work so to help ease him back, after his long absence, it has been decided to move him to a less stressful position and so he is transferred to the coroner’s office.
I took to Ridpath straight away, his vulnerability that he hides from everybody including himself as he juggles work, home, and hospital appointments. His soul mate and wife is his little Jiminy Cricket conscience that he hears telling him to keep appointments but like Pinocchio, he doesn’t listen. If you don’t hear bad news then it isn’t happening, right?

Old habits die hard as Ridpath has an itch that has to be scratched especially when a case that he ‘put to bed’ ten years ago seems to be back to taunt him, either that or a copy cat killer has taken up where the last one had ended with a conviction.

Ridpath finds himself between a rock and a hard place as being a DI is all about investigating who and why while the coroner’s office is more about the how and when someone died. These murders are not for the faint hearted but they really hit the spot for me. I love a book that gives me the full funfair experience of thrills and adrenaline rushes and this does that and more.

One of my favourite characters, besides Ridpath, is his new boss Margaret Challinor, the Coroner. Ridpath is definitely bringing out a new side to her, she is quite a lady. I am going to love watching how these two work together. Definitely, a drool bib ending, brilliant round up! This is a real huge must read.
HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Martin has spent most of his adult life writing in one form or another. As a University researcher in history, he wrote pages of notes on reams of obscure topics. As a social worker with Vietnamese refugees, he wrote memoranda. And, as the creative director of an advertising agency, he has written print and press ads, tv commercials, short films and innumerable backs of cornflake packets and hotel websites.
He has spent 25 years of his life working outside the North of England. In London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai, winning awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York and London Festivals, and the United Nations.
Whilst working in Shanghai, he loved walking through the old quarter of that amazing city, developing the idea behind a series of crime novels featuring Inspector Pyotr Danilov, set in 1920s and 30s.
When he’s not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia, taking pleasure in playing with his daughter, practicing downhill ironing, single-handedly solving the problem of the French wine lake and wishing he were George Clooney.
AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: @WriterMJLee

writermjlee.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/writermjlee/

Where The Truth Lies: The most gripping crime thriller of the year (DI Ridpath Crime Thriller Book 1) by [Lee, M J]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.