Where The Dead Fall (DI Ridpath #2) by MJ Lee @WriterMJLee @Tr4cyF3nt0n #crimefiction #Manchester #WhatToRead @canelo_co #BlogTour #NewRelease #BookReview

Firstly I wish to thank Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for inviting me on the Blog Tour for WHERE THE DEAD FALL by MJ Lee

44166882

BOOK DESCRIPTION

One chance encounter, one street side murder, will change everything. The extraordinary new Ridpath crime thriller

DI Ridpath is in the process of getting his life back together when everything goes wrong.

Driving to meet his daughter, he is caught in a gruesome motorway accident, in which a near-naked man is rundown by a lorry, while fleeing from a lone gunman. As Ridpath closes Manchester’s road network in search of the assailant, one question remains: why did nobody else see him?

Ridpath’s investigations soon unearth a number of inconsistencies, which pulls the police force itself into question, and hint at something sinister to come.

For Manchester is on the brink of a fresh surge of violence unlike anything it has seen in decades, and Ridpath must battle this unprecedented conflict along with his own demons. One thing is for sure. There will be blood on the streets…

The nail-biting sequel to Where the Truth Lies, M J Lee’s Where the Dead Fall is an absolute must read, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Faith Martin and Peter James

BUY LINK:

Where The Dead Fall: A completely gripping crime thriller (DI Ridpath Crime Thriller Book 2)

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

Now before I begin my review I will say that I have been left with a bit of a Annie Wilkes  (Cathy Bates) twitch, which is a good thing, because this is an awesome read that left me gagging for more, turning the last page back and forth searching for something that wasn’t there.  DI Ridpath is back for a second outing in this extremely addictive series that can be read as a stand alone but you would only be cheating yourself if you don’t read them both. (My review for book 1 to follow soon).

MJ Lee certainly got my attention with this opening chapter as my empathy for a broken bloke was through the roof, oh boy I ground my teeth and called to him willing him on. I  could taste freedom for him but fate will always have its way…..one way or another. When a dead anybody turns into a somebody the smelly stuff really hits the fan and the police get a bit twitchy knowing that it won’t be the end of it. When a second man is found dead then it feels like Hell could be the new Manchester because a gang war was bubbling away like never before,

At just 37, Ridpath has been left in a bit of a no-mans land as far as his career goes, being a DI was too much for both his health and his marriage while his position in The Coroner’s Office could only be a temporary one. Ridpath is known as a bloke that really throws everything into his work but it doesn’t always go down well with his colleagues both old and new, especially when he digs a little deeper when they think a case is all neatly tied up. In this story he is becoming a bad influence in a good way on a few of his new colleagues, which seems to breath new life into them. I grinned from ear to ear with a couple of punch in the air moments the further I got into the book.

Ridpath is a wicked character that is finding strength in himself where others would have given up. He has that instinct that can’t be taught that pushes him further, the cost is huge though as he endeavours to be best at everything, with little personal regard for himself. He is a bit of a loner, where working is concerned but he is building his own little back up team for when he needs them too. This is another cracking, breath-taking story in this series.

I wish to thank Tracy Fenton and the publisher for an e-copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Martin has spent most of his adult life writing in one form or another. As a University researcher in history, he wrote pages of notes on reams of obscure topics. As a social worker with Vietnamese refugees, he wrote memoranda. And, as the creative director of an advertising agency, he has written print and press ads, tv commercials, short films and innumerable backs of cornflake packets and hotel websites.
He has spent 25 years of his life working outside the North of England. In London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai, winning awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York and London Festivals, and the United Nations.
Whilst working in Shanghai, he loved walking through the old quarter of that amazing city, developing the idea behind a series of crime novels featuring Inspector Pyotr Danilov, set in 1920s and 30s.
When he’s not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia, taking pleasure in playing with his daughter, practicing downhill ironing, single-handedly solving the problem of the French wine lake and wishing he were George Clooney.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: @WriterMJLee

writermjlee.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/writermjlee/

Screenshot_20190421-223732_Gallery.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.