The Brotherhood by David Beckler @DavidBeckler1 @SapereBooks #TheBrotherhood #BookReview #UrbanThriller #KindleUnlimited

Brotherhood

BOOK DESCRIPTION

This nail-biting new thriller series will have you on the edge of your seat! Perfect for fans of Lee Child, J. B. Turner, Mark Dawson and David Baldacci…

An ex-Marine is forced to confront his troubled past…

Manchester, England, 1998

When Byron Mason’s estranged nephew, Philip, rings him out of the blue in desperate need of help, he knows he must put his personal feelings aside to protect his family.

A teenage boy has been murdered, and Philip is one of the suspects.

Worse than that, the dead boy was the nephew of Ritchie McLaughlin – a local thug who Byron has clashed with in the past – and Philip has now gone missing.

Desperate to clear Philip’s name, Byron enlists the help of his old friend Adam Sterling to track down the real killers.

Is Philip in danger? Can Byron and Adam find him before the police do?

Or has Byron’s violent past with McLaughlin come back to haunt him…?

BROTHERHOOD is the first crime novel in the Mason & Sterling thriller series: gritty, hard-boiled page-turners with an urban setting.

‘A powerful and violent first chapter precedes a superb opening 100 pages, the best I’ve read this year. And the pace never lets up in this cat and mouse thriller, evocatively set amid Manchester’s threatening underworld.’ – Crime Thriller Hound

‘a dark portrayal of the effects of violence on young minds’ – Murder, Mayhem and More

BUY LINK:

Brotherhood: An urban thriller packed full of suspense (Mason & Sterling Thrillers Book 1)

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

This is going to be one hell of a series to get on board with as this trio of books are being given a new look. The action is instant as I was thrown head first into the seedier side of Manchester. The first encounter of the violent under current was more the puffing of chests and strutting but young men will always be in the wings as wannabes that haven’t leant yet when to call it a day. So when a group of young lads, that like to think they are the real deal, decide to teach one of their own gang members a lesson, things go sour pretty quick leaving the nephew of one of the city’s top gang bosses dead and a small group of terrified young men knowing hell will be to pay for this. So throwing one of their own gang members to the lions seems like a reasonable solution to their dilemma.

The series has two central characters, ex-marine best buddies Byron Mason, whose nephew in this story is being made the patsy for the murder and Adam Sterling now a fire fighter that is on call when murdered teenager Liam’s body is found among the debris of a staged fire. Mason already has a really colourful history with Liam’s uncle from their younger days, something that hasn’t been forgotten as the gangland boss makes clear.

I must say that Mason and Sterling are one double delight of entertainment, from at times short fuses to roleplay when it suits getting a result. The police investigation gets heavily involved with the introduction to another, I would think, regular character, DCI Siobhan Quinn, as she winds her way into the story determined to solve the murder. But there is confusion as to who two strange characters are that keep bobbing up in reports, always one step ahead of her investigation team.

The story that runs along side the murder is that of a boy soldier that has been dragged from his village and forced to take part in the most horrendous acts against his own people. This story seems in warp speed against present day events covering years of abuse, rescue and second chances to bring it up to present day.

This story just buzzes from beginning to end and is far from finished yet. Yes it is a complete story but it promises to give so much more from these characters in the next two books. What a start!

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

David Beckler

I spent my first eight years living on an agricultural college in rural Ethiopia, where my love of reading developed.
After dropping out of university I became a firefighter and later a businessman. I began writing in 2010, working on my first novel in my spare time, a crime thriller called Brotherhood.
I like writing about protagonists with a strong moral code who don’t fit in with conventional society. I also enjoy writing about baddies and how they arrived at their fallen state.
When not writing I try to keep fit, socialise and feed my voracious book habit.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: @DavidBeckler1

davidbeckler.com

Brotherhood

2 thoughts on “The Brotherhood by David Beckler @DavidBeckler1 @SapereBooks #TheBrotherhood #BookReview #UrbanThriller #KindleUnlimited

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.