Arthur Dux Bellorum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 4) by Tim Walker @timwalker1666 #AlternativeHistory #BookReview #ALightInTheDarkAges #NewRelease

44076558

BOOK DESCRIPTION

From the ruins of post-Roman Britain, a warrior arises to unite a troubled land.

Britain in the late Fifth Century is a troubled place – riven with tribal infighting and beset by invaders in search of plunder and settlement. King Uther is dead, and his daughter, Morgana, seizes the crown for her infant son, Mordred. Merlyn’s attempt to present Arthur as the true son and heir of Uther is scorned, and the bewildered teenager finds himself in prison. Here our story begins…

Arthur finds friends in unexpected quarters and together they flee. Travelling through a fractured landscape of tribal conflict and suspicion, they attempt to stay one step ahead of their pursuers, whilst keeping a wary eye on Saxon invaders menacing the shoreline. Arthur’s reputation as a fearsome warrior grows as he learns the harsh lessons needed to survive and acquire the skills of a dux bellorum, a lord of war.

Tim Walker’s Arthur Dux Bellorum is a fresh look at the Arthurian legend, combining myth, history and gripping battle scenes. Although in a series, it can be read as a standalone novel.

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Dux Bellorum.

BUY LINK:

Arthur Dux Bellorum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 4)

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

This is the fourth book in the ‘A Light in the Dark Ages’ series and one that I have been holding my breath for because this is the story of King Arthur. Merlin had convinced King Uther that his new-born son, Arthur, was in grave danger, so he took the baby to be raised as an ordinary boy. A boy trained by a very skilled swordsman.

When King Uther died Merlyn introduced the now teenager to court but no-one would believe that he was heir to the throne, even after he pulls Excalibur  from the stone. A little bit of a set up where the secret of how it was done is revealed. Arthur is put in prison, while Morgana, Uther’s daughter, takes the crown for her baby son. Arthur a typical teenager with raging mood swings, soon finds surprising friends from unexpected places that help his escape. The story that follows spans from Arthur’s teenage years to a middle-aged man, that has matured into a wise, respected and feared lord of war, with his constant companion Excalibur.

I was mesmerised by this story that each page brought to life. From Excalibur, to the outbursts of frustration that can only be fuelled by raging hormones of youth. The book is bursting with battles both from invaders and fractious leaders of settlements throughout Britain. The Knights that were to become legends themselves, Gawain and Percival are at Arthur’s side every step forging alliances as Arthur’s followers grow.

They make their way north, constantly one move in front of the armies of the King. The battles are tremendous, the negotiations tense and Merlyn being more man than magical myth. A man who often steps on the darker side of druids than the church. He is fascinating but someone I wouldn’t like to be on the wrong side of.

Tim Walker just doesn’t begin this story with a boy and end it with a man. Arthur’s right of passage wasn’t served on a plate, he earned every man’s respect and grew with age into a legend that is still talked about. The story is mesmerizing, brutal and stunning. Loving this series.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Welcome to my profile page. I am an indie author based in Windsor in UK.

In March 2018 I launched my third historical novel, Uther’s Destiny. This is book three in A Light in the Dark Ages series, and follows:-
Book two – Ambrosius: Last of the Romans (2017)
Book one – Abandoned! (2015)

My first novel, Devil Gate Dawn, released in April 2016, is a thriller set in 2026 that predicts political chaos in a divided post-Brexit UK, and a dystopian Trump America.

Postcards from London, a book of short stories, was released in September 2017.
This follows my first book of short stories, Thames Valley Tales (2015).

In 2016 I published my first children’s book, The Adventures of Charly Holmes, co-authored with my daughter, Cathy

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES AND BUY LINKS:

Paperback

Abandoned (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 1)

Kindle Edition

Ambrosius: Last of the Romans (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 2)

Kindle Edition

Uther’s Destiny (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 3)

AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: timwalker1666
44076558

2 thoughts on “Arthur Dux Bellorum (A Light in the Dark Ages Book 4) by Tim Walker @timwalker1666 #AlternativeHistory #BookReview #ALightInTheDarkAges #NewRelease

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.