The Burning Men (Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson #3) by Steve Parker @Books_n_all @joffebooks #detective #crimefiction #BlogTour #NewRelease

I wish to thank Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for inviting me on the Blog Tour for THE BURNING MEN by Steve Parker

42981802

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Discover a crime thriller full of shocking twists by one of the most exciting new authors you’ll read this year.

A MAN IS BURNT AT THE STAKE IN A LONDON PARK. HIS SMOULDERING CORPSE IS A MESSAGE OF THE MOST VIOLENT KIND.

The man burnt alive is Davey Caine. He is the heir to the criminal empire created by his father, William ‘Billy’ Caine. Billy is a notorious and violent gangster with total control of South East London. But he’s not the man he used to be and the sharks smell blood in the water. Detectives Ray Paterson and Johnny Clocks must find the killer before Billy extracts his own brand of justice.

They find themselves drawn ever deeper into London’s underworld. The streets explode into violence and the body count rises. Men are shot and burned alive in a tit-for-tat power struggle between rival gangs. Detectives Ray Paterson and Johnny Clocks find themselves trying to control men of extreme viciousness.

Men who have no fear of the law and its consequences and who are unafraid to kill anyone who stands in their way — including police detectives.

Paterson is stunned when he’s offered the chance to stop the conflict dead in its tracks. If he ignores it, the mayhem continues. If he takes it, there will be a price to pay. What he doesn’t know is that the price will come with hidden and devastating consequences.

ON THE STREETS OF LONDON, A SIMMERING GANG WAR IS ABOUT TO ERUPT WITH PATERSON AND CLOCKS CAUGHT RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE.

This is the third in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Martina Cole.

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he’s weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a ‘climber’.

Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can.

THE AUTHOR Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads.

THE SETTING Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

BUY LINK:

THE BURNING MEN an absolutely gripping killer thriller with a huge twist

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

Oh my I have one almighty regret after reading this book and that is that I haven’t yet read the first two. The story stands very well on its own but this unusual chalk and cheese pair of detectives have me hungry to find out more about them. I love their kick ass get the job done and give as much as they get attitudes. I always did have a soft spot for the bad boys but a couple on the right side of the law certainly have an edge.

When an all out bid to be top dog in the criminal world is put into motion you just know that this isn’t going to end well especially when the son of Billy Caine has been identified as a man burnt at the stake in London. As the body count starts to rapidly rise it becomes clear that a blood bath could be on the cards in this tit for tat battle for pole position in the criminal world. Caine had always had the edge before but delicate information has come to the attention of his closest enemy and it is game on.

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson and D.I. Johnny Clocks were just fabulous characters that had me spell-bound on every page. They aren’t angels, especially Clocks who learnt everything he knows growing up on the tough streets and puts his knowledge into practice at every chance. Now I know that these criminals would have done the most appalling deeds but  I really felt sorry for Caine, which is down to the skill of the author, I mean who the hell feels sorry for a hardened criminal? But I did.

This story builds in momentum at every chapter with the two detectives pushing to the ultimate limit of the law and beyond. The story line was superb with an outcome that I didn’t guess, but I must admit that the ending tickled me in some twisted way. A cracking book, I must read more of this pair of detectives, they have me intrigued.

I wish to thank Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for an e-copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

STEVE PARKER

I was born and raised in South East London (Peckham to be precise – cushty, my son). At the ripe old age of twenty-one, I joined the Metropolitan Police where I served for twenty years before I was pensioned out with a serious back injury. I then went to work as an enforcement officer for a local authority before taking redundancy.

Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with a complete lack of DIY skills so was legitimately able to get away with swanning around the house doing bugger all, all day long. Finding myself with plenty of spare time and a deep desire to never work for anyone again, I gave myself permission to go back to writing (I’d been writing on and off for years).

When I’m not writing, I’m out taking photographs, something I’ve done since I was a nipper and will do until the day I shuffle off this mortal coil.

I live down in the windier part of East Sussex near the sea with my long-suffering wife and my ‘off-her-nut’ cockerpoo. I have two sons of whom I am so proud, I cannot begin to tell you.

OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES, CLICK FOR BUY LINK

DETECTIVE RAY PATERSON
Book 1: THEIR LAST WORDS 
Book 2: THE LOST CHILDREN 

BLOG TOUR Banner - The Burning Men.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.