The Stolen Girls (Detective Lottie Parker#2) by Patricia Gibney @Bookouture @trisha460 #BookReview

34863666

BOOK DESCRIPTION

The young woman standing on Lottie’s step was a stranger. She was clutching the hand of a young boy. ‘Help me,’ she said to Lottie. ‘Please help me.’ 

One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend.

Could this be the same girl?

When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing.

Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge, haunted by her tragic past and struggling to keep her family together through difficult times. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim?

The Stolen Girls is a gripping and page-turning thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Karin Slaughter and Robert Dugoni.

BUT LINK:

The Stolen Girls: (Detective Lottie Parker Book 2

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

I loved the first book in this series which seems to have been the firm foundation for the second book. Patricia Gibney doesn’t hold anything back with a horrendous scene set in a war-torn Afghanistan witnessed by a young boy in 1999.

It leaps forward then to 2015 where Lottie Parker’s home life is still spiralling  downhill. There are some real serious issues bubbling away  within the four walls of her home, with her and her children  busily facing their own inner demons. When a desperate woman literally comes knocking on the door for help then a couple of dead bodies are found with very unusual injuries, D.I.  Lottie Parker has to put the family problems on a back burner again!

This is at times heart wrenching to read as it portrays criminals at their most despicable.  There are scenes of rape, mutilation and murder which are realistically. That said this book is simply impossible to put down. My head was spinning with trying to solve who was behind it all and who could be trusted.

You know when  a character makes a choice and the only way you can carry on reading is with a cuppa and chocolate well all I can say is this book is no good for dieting. Oh boy does this story take off when it all begins to come  together and gets close up and  personal all at once! I was in pieces at every  revelation. A brilliant ending.

There are some excellent characters in this series, including those of Lottie’s family. I really love that they are facing modern-day problems in an imperfect world. This D.I. often seems to throw herself into her work to escape things out of her control at home. Thank goodness for gran! I really need to catch up on the brilliant series.

I received this  e-copy from NetGalley which I have honestly reviewed.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Patricia lives in the midlands of Ireland. She is an avid crime reader so naturally she found herself writing in the crime genre. thumbnail2

A life changing experience in 2009, with the death of her 49 year old husband, meant she had to give up her career, and over the following few years, she rekindled her love of art and writing. 

Initially Patricia wrote and illustrated a children’s book, but her real ambition was to write a novel. And she did!

In January 2016, she joined with Ger Nichol of The Book Bureau Literary Agency. In July 2016, Patricia signed with Bookouture for four DI Lottie Parker crime novels. 

The Missing Ones (Book 1) published in March 2017 and to date has reached a high of number 2 in Amazon UK Kindle charts and number 6 in the US. It also achieved number 1 in all its categories. It is a bestseller in UK, US, Canada and Australia.

Book 2 in the series, The Stolen Girls, published on July 6th, 2017.

Book 3, The Lost Child, published on October 27th, 2017.

Book 4 No Place Safe, published on 22nd March 2018.

Book 5 Tell Nobody, published on 3rd October 2018.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/patricia.gibney1

Twitter: https://twitter.com/trisha460

Website: http://patriciagibney.com/

34863666

One thought on “The Stolen Girls (Detective Lottie Parker#2) by Patricia Gibney @Bookouture @trisha460 #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.