The After Wife by Cass Hunter @C_HunterAuthor @TrapezeBooks @orionbooks #BlogTour #TheAfterWife

Firstly I wish to thank Tracy Fenton for inviting me on this Blog Tour for THE AFTER WIFE by Cass Hunter, on behalf of Trapeze Books and Alainna Hadjigeorgiou at Orion Publishing

37926368

BOOK DESCRIPTION

A surprising and emotional story starring an unforgettable heroine, for fans of Together, The Summer of Impossible Things and The Time Traveler’s Wife

When Rachel and Aidan fell in love, they thought it was forever.

She was a brilliant, high-flying scientist. He was her loving and supportive husband.

Now she’s gone, and Aidan must carry on and raise their daughter alone.

But Rachel has left behind her life’s work, a gift of love to see them through the dark days after her death.

A gift called iRachel.

BUY LINK:

The After Wife: a moving and emotional story about a family keeping a big secret

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

The sign of a good book is remembering the story but the sign of brilliant book is becoming emotional about the characters, especially when one is an Artificial Intelligence. I have literally used up my emotional allowance for the month today while I read this book. I never met Rachel in the story but I got to know her probably better than the other characters. At first I can’t really say that I liked this career obsessed woman who appeared to put work before anything else, including her husband and a daughter that seemed to disappoint her.

I at first thought what she did to her family was quite cruel. Imagine losing your wife and in 15-year-old Chloe’s case, her mother, to have her replaced after her death with an Artificial Intelligence in her own image! Whoa that would really play your with head, especially when you are some what blackmailed into letting it live with you. All on the hush, hush too.

What a belting story this is. iRachel,  was brimming with so much factual information and memories of Rachel’s life but no idea of emotion, unless assessed through physical signs. The story is told through all the main characters thoughts, Aiden, Chloe, Luke Rachel’s working partner, Aidan’s mother Sinead and of course iRachel. Watching iRachel grow was like watching a new baby finding out about the world, it was so very intimate in its purity of the joy she felt at the smallest things we take for granted. It was like her eyes opened a little more each day. She wasn’t the only one that went through changes though. iRachel wasn’t a replica of Rachel. I loved her logic, felt pity for her and was truly amazed at how she adapted to situations.

 Such a cruel world outside four walls of protection and a beautiful story of love and regrets. A belting story with copious amounts of tissues piled up at my side. Loved iRachel, the last few charpters were amazing. Brilliant end!

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Cass Hunter

Cass Hunter was born in South Africa and moved to the UK in 2000. She lives in North London with her husband and two sons. She is an avid lifelong learner, and works at a London university. Cass Hunter is the pen name of Rosie Fiore, whose novels include After Isabella, What She Left, Babies in Waiting and Wonder Women.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: @C_HunterAuthor

The After Wife blog tour v2 .jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.