Gracie’s Secret by Jill Childs @author_jill @Bookouture #BlogTour

Firstly I wish to thank Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me on the Blog Tour for Gracie’s Secret by Jill Childs

39333782

BOOK DESCRIPTION

My dearest daughter, I will never forget the day I nearly lost you. The day you learned the secrets that would tear our lives apart…

Time stops for Jen when her beloved daughter, Gracie, is involved in a terrible car crash. Pronounced dead at the scene, it’s a miracle when paramedics manage to then resuscitate the little girl.

The relief Jen feels at Gracie’s recovery is matched only by her fury at the driver of the car – her ex-husband’s new girlfriend Ella. Jen has never trusted Ella, and now her worst fears have been confirmed.

But then Gracie begins to tell strange stories about what she heard in the car that day, and what she saw in those moments near death. It’s clear that there’s something shocking hidden in Ella’s past… but exposing it could tear all their lives apart.

An emotional page-turner that will take your breath away. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Lisa Wingate and Kerry Fisher.

Buy Links:

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

When Jen’s three-year old daughter is involved in a horrific car accident, Jen knows who to blame. Jen’s emotions are still very raw from her husband, and father of Gracie, leaving them to go make a new life with Ella and Ella had been driving the car when the accident happened. Little Gracie had to be resuscitated and isn’t quite the little girl that she was before the accident. What she tells her mummy sets Jen on a one track mission to expose Ella and the secrets she is hiding.

Now I have to be honest here, Jen was not a character that I really liked. Yep I know she was hurting but whoa she was one massive tight ball of jealous, frustrating rage that all of a sudden found a loop-hole to excuse herself for exposing Ella’s hidden past. Oh wow, this is such a powerful story of emotions, feelings, letting go and really being thankful for what you have.

The story is mainly told through Jen so as I got the facts of what had happened in an unbiased way but then saw how Jen’s mind interpreted them. Oh boy did I cringe at times. There is the sort of super natural element to the story too, whether you believe this sort of thing or not it is necessary. It is all so very clever with additional elements being slipped in all the way through and becomes far deeper than you could imagine. Then shocked me over and over as the story worked its way to the end, something that I was half guessing so didn’t want to get there.

This is a beautifully written book that many people will be able to connect with on so many levels. Some people just get stuck in the past. While others find ways to move on but never forget. A very sad story and extremely emotive.

I wish to thank NetGalley and Bookouture for an e-copy of this book which I reviewed honestly.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Screenshot_20180611-211032_Gallery.jpg

Jill has always loved writing – real and imaginary – and spent 30 years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She’s now made her home in London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does. Although she’s covered everything from earthquakes and floods, riots and wars, she’s found some of the most extraordinary stories right here at home – in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets, just like yours.

If you’ve enjoyed reading one of Jill’s books, please do leave a review.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Twitter: @author_jill

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/jill.childs.71

 

Screenshot_20180611-210951_Gallery.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.