Dark Waters (Alex Devlin #3) by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads #PsychologicalThriller #DarkWaters #Review

36634207

BOOK DESCRIPTION

A darkly compelling psychological thriller, full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Cass Green and Alex Lake.

Secrets lie beneath the surface…

Two men, seemingly unconnected, are discovered dead in a holiday boat on the Norfolk Broads, having apparently committed suicide together.

Local journalist Alex Devlin, planning an article on the dangers of internet suicide forums, starts digging into their backgrounds.

But Alex’s investigation soon leads her to a much darker mystery – one that will hit closer to home than she could possibly have imagined, and place the lives of those she loves in terrible danger

Buy Link:

Dark Waters: The addictive psychological thriller you won’t be able to put down (Alex Devlin, Book 3)

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

I was totally blown away with the first two books in this series that centre round Alex Devlin and spiders out into her family. Now with the hustle and bustle of London behind her as she has returned to Sole Bay to give a hand to her mum, who is looking after her father that has the tell tale signs of dementia. She is close enough to call in but far enough away to get on with her own life too.

Working as a free-lance journalist she accidentally stumbles across what appears at first to have been a double suicide but with a little digging she soon gets the feeling that this story will go big. Well she would be daft to turn down potential easy money if she can loosen tongues before anyone gets a whiff of the story. The more she digs and the bigger the hole gets and the only trouble with holes is that you can fall up to your neck in them yourself!

Oh my words have this family had it rough in the past and it seems like what they gain in one hand is taken away with the other. I did love the return of one of the main characters from the first book, no more said on that one though except to really get the full impact of this family dynamics read all three books because references are made back to past events that are too vague to grasp exactly what has gone off. The story dips back into the past as Alex pieces it together like a jigsaw but with all old jig-saws there is always that one vital piece missing.

It may start off at a steady pace on the peaceful Norfolk Broads but by heck buckle up because when it picks up speed it doesn’t slow down. There are some real touching scenes and life changing acceptances for the whole family to come to terms with. The last page though made it a perfect read for me. It felt right. That made it cracking writing. A superb book again!

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Mary-Jane wrote her first story on her newly acquired blue Petite typewriter. She was eight. It was about a gang of children who had adventures on mysterious islands, but she soon realised Enid Blyton had cornered that particular market. So she wrote about the Wild West instead. When she grew up she had to earn a living, and became a BBC radio talk show presenter and journalist. She has covered many life-affirming stories, but also some of the darkest events of the past two decades.

Then, in true journalistic style, she decided not to let the facts get in the way of a good story and got creative. She wrote for women’s magazines and small presses. She formed WriteOutLoud with two writer friends to help charities get their message across using their life stories. Now she is writing psychological suspense, drawing on her experiences in journalism. She has three grown-up children and lives in Suffolk with a golden retriever and her television journalist husband.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website

 

Twitter

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES

The Bad Things: A gripping crime thriller full of twists and turns (Alex Devlin, Book 1)

The Bad Things: A gripping crime thriller full of twists and turns  Alex Devlin 1

 

After She Fell: A haunting psychological thriller with a shocking twist (Alex Devlin, Book 2)

After She Fell: A haunting psychological thriller  Alex Devlin 2

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dark Waters (Alex Devlin #3) by Mary Jane Riley @mrsmjriley @KillerReads #PsychologicalThriller #DarkWaters #Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.