The Woman Before Me (Cate Austin #1) by Ruth Dugdall #BlogTour @Legend_Press @RuthDugdall

Firstly I wish to thank Imogen Harris of Legend Press for Inviting me to take part on this Blog Tour for THE WOMAN BEFORE ME by Ruth Dugdall

 

BOOKS DESCRIPTION

‘Ruth Dugdall’s novels are intelligent and gripping, with a sophisticated psychological sensibility. She is a huge talent.’ Sophie Hannah

‘An absolute tour de force that left me thinking for days.’ Alex Marwood

They came for me, just like I knew they would. Luke had been dead for just three days.

Rose Wilks’ life is shattered when her newborn baby Joel is admitted to intensive care. Emma Hatcher has all that Rose lacks. Beauty. A loving husband. A healthy son. Until tragedy strikes and Rose is the only suspect.

Now, having spent nearly five years behind bars, Rose is just weeks away from freedom. Her probation officer Cate must decide whether Rose is remorseful for Luke’s death, or whether she remains a threat to society. As Cate is drawn in, she begins to doubt her own judgement.

Where is the line between love and obsession, can justice be served and, if so… by what means?

New Edition includes exclusive material and author Q&A

A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

Buy Link:

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

This is the first book in a re-released series featuring Cate Austin, a probation officer. Cate really is a get your sleeves rolled up kind of woman who isn’t happy to just go through paper work where others can easily sway her with their decisions. She gets in there and pokes at the past with a big stick. What she decides changes people’s lives and getting it wrong could mean either serving more time in prison for someone or putting lives at risk in the community. Rose Wilks has served 5 years in prison and she is due to be up for parole, Cate is her probation officer, it is in her hands if she is going to be set free.

This is such a tragic story but I just couldn’t stop reading. My heart just bled for Rose from the first few chapters in the story as it jumped from present day to the past. I have never known a day disappear so quickly as I became so involved in wanting to know the truth. The question of was she sorry about the crime she had been found guilty of became secondary. This is one emotional read that just really gets into your mind and won’t go away.

I just love it when a story comes together and this is a beauty. Although this is a series which revolves round Cate, the story centres on Rose as the main character in this book. A chance meeting in hospital with  Emma Hatcher, when they have both just given birth to baby boys, sets in motion an unusual friendship with disastrous consequences. Oh boy this is heart wrenching stuff that just comes back and haunts you.

Rose, needs help desperately but everyone seems oblivious. OMG! What was happening made me cringe, made me fearful and made me cry.

As the story unfolds all of these characters layers are peeled away to bear all. This is so very powerful. A belting psychological and thrilling all round must read!

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ruth Dugdall

Ruth Dugdall was born in 1971. She holds a BA honours degree in English Literature (Warwick University) and an MA in Social Work (University of East Anglia). She qualified as a probation officer in 1996 and has worked in prison with offenders guilty of serious crimes, including stalking, rape and murder. This has informed her crime writing. Since she started writing, Ruth has won awards in several writing competitions, and has had short stories published in the Winchester Writers’ Conference and the Eva Wiggins Award anthologies.

Ruth is also the news presenter on Felixstowe tv: “probably the smallest tv station in the world”.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website

 

Twitter
 Screenshot_20180310-210138.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.