Crossed Out by Malcolm Hollingdrake #(DC Bennett book 6) #Harrogate @MHollingdrake @BloodhoundBooks #KindleUnlimited

37840891

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Looking for an unmissable crime thriller from a best-selling author?

DCI Bennett and his team are back and called to a house in Ripon that has collapsed into a sinkhole where a body is discovered.

Soon old weathered Remembrance Crosses are found dug up. Each one numbered.

DC April Richmond is assigned to help the team due to her impressive biblical knowledge and soon makes a startling discovery.

Meanwhile, Gideon Fletcher is walking around the streets of Harrogate distributing religious texts. Is there a link between Gideon and the crosses? Do the crosses have anything to do with the body in the house?

Bennett and the team find themselves wondering if the killer is exacting revenge or punishment and whatever the answer, they soon realise the clock is ticking.

Crossed Out is an intricate and gripping crime thriller from the best-selling DCI Bennett Series. It can easily be read as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to fans of authors like Joy Ellis, Faith Martin, LJ Ross & Angela Marsons.

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

The more that you read a series and the more you expect of the author to come up with something that will welcome you like an old friend and Malcolm Hollingdrake does just that. As each book comes along, this is book six, I have begun to recognise the little traits that make all of the characters individual and that is how it is with DCI Cyril Bennett and DS David Owen. I feel that I know a little more how their minds work as a team and on their own but we all have secrets and pasts, as each new book comes along it is as if a trust builds up between the characters and readers and little more is shared.

The story plummets straight into the bowels of the earth, as a sinkhole has partly devoured a house, leaving the occupants on the way to hospital and the search revealing a dead body that has been there for some time. While Bennett and Owen are looking into who the mysterious person can be, a number of remembrance crosses, are turning up with dyed real hair attached in plastic bags and each with an individual number. A further search reveals a murdered person not far from each one.

Previously in an earlier book, the death of a colleague hit the team really hard but now is the right time to introduce a very valuable new comer, DC April Richmond. Well I loved this lady straight away and what an asset she is. She brings with her a wealth of knowledge that cements her to this incredible team as if she had been with them years.

This is again a top class read and such a busy book that I just couldn’t being myself to put down at a spot that I could stop. A cracking team, a brilliant story line. I just love how Malcolm Hollingdrake pays attention to the smallest detail to make the story as close to real life as possible. There is always excellent research evident in his books. Highly recommended.

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Screenshot_20170711-152029

You could say that the writing was clearly written on the wall for anyone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author but to get to that point Malcolm Hollingdrake has travelled a circuitous route.

Malcolm worked in education for many years, even teaching for a period in Cairo before he started writing, a challenge he had longed to tackle for more years than he cares to remember.

Malcolm has written a number of successful short stories and has four books now available. Presently he is concentrating on a series of crime novels set in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

Born in Bradford and spending three years in Ripon, Malcolm has never lost his love for his home county, a passion that is reflected in the settings for all three novels.

Malcolm has enjoyed many hobbies including collecting works by Northern artists; the art auctions offer a degree of excitement when both buying and certainly when selling. It’s a hobby he has bestowed on DCI Cyril Bennett, the main character in his latest novel.

AUTHOR LINKS:

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMalcolmHollingdrake/?fref=ts

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Malcolm-Hollingdrake/e/B01EFXD068/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1489157119&sr=8-1


DCI Bennett Series:

Only The Dead (DCI Bennett Book 1)

4.4 out of 5 stars (124)

Kindle Edition
£0.99

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.