Dead to Me (Detective Kate Matthews #1) by Stephen Edger @stephenedger @Bookouture #review

35432472

BOOK DESCRIPTION

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague.

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

Now I am a little late to the party with this book but I wanted to get a feel of this series from the start not on book three which I believe is due out anytime. I haven’t read any of Stephen Edger books before either but keep hearing really good stuff about them from friends. So here I go.

The series is going to be based around Detective Kate Hamilton and she just got really under my skin as soon as I met her!  She has a past that has really messed her up, which I got to know very little about and it wasn’t like I could google it in last years headlines.  She is impulsive and reckless, takes chances and has too much pride, which interferes with her job but bloody hell I want to know why she is like she is. I want to know why she has to be the best at everything, why she takes risks and why her relationship didn’t just not work out but ended on such bad terms. Why she made the choices she made and why she has so much to prove. In other words I am rather intrigued, definitely hooked and need to read the next book to find out more, well probably the whole series!

Now this book. This is a cracking story besides all that is going on with Kate’s private life and her colleagues. I pretty well like the gruesome stories with my crime books so this one fit the bill perfectly. There are a number of murders, all very different and highly descriptive making it perhaps not for everyone but they got my attention and kept it. I do like the nitty-gritty facts as well as just the basics. There must have been a good bit of research involved by the author and it pays off.

Suspects, well there are plenty, did I work it out? hell no! But I loved the end, it is soooo good. I have to get cracking with book two soon. It is a matter of I definitely need to know more. Good stuff!

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Stephen Edger is a British crime writer, who has been writing since 2010. In that time he has written and published more than a dozen novels, and five short stories. He writes mysteries and thrillers focused on crime.

Stephen was born in the north-east of England, grew up in London, but has lived in Southampton since attending university in the year 2000. Stephen works in the financial industry, and uses his insider knowledge to create the plots of his books. He also has a law degree, which gives him a good understanding of the inner workings of the UK justice system.

Stephen is married, and has two children, and two dogs. He is passionate about reading and writing, and cites Simon Kernick and John Grisham as major influences on his writing style.

 

Website

 

Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s