THE LOST CHILD by Patricia Gibney #BlogTour @Bookouture @trisha460

Firstly I wish to thank Kim Nash for inviting me to take part on this tour for THE LOST CHILD by Patricia Gibney

35634046

Amazon Links:

UK http://amzn.to/2tZQ2ps

US http://amzn.to/2v3Xn44

BOOK DESCRIPTION

They placed me in here and threw away the key. I look down at the gown they’ve put on me. I want my own clothes. I don’t know how long I’ve been here.

An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim’s daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family…

Two days later as a nearby house is set on fire and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie’s father before he took his own life.

With little knowledge of what really happened to her father, Lottie knows this is a case that could give her some answers. But how much does she want to know? And how far is Lottie prepared to dig to uncover the truth?

The Lost Child is a thrilling page-turner from the bestselling author of The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls that will have you guessing right to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni.

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

Oh wow I just loved this book with its back drop chapters to the past and The Child, what a poor little mite The Child is, not even worthy of a name. The Child is of course only half of the story. My heart still aches and my goose bumps rise when I think of so many of these chapters. They rose even more as the past catches up to the present I and literally shuddered……..

I loved this book that enveloped me in the past and present within the first couple of chapters and my mind began to whirl to put events, facts and red herrings into the right slots not an easy task but if it had been it wouldn’t have seemed real.

Lottie Parker is certainly a Marmite character with no grey area in the middle. A drinking problem, drugs out of control and an inability to connect with either her family or work colleagues makes Lottie a character that you would think could not function in any job let alone as a Detective. Well things have got rather darker for her and people are definitely taking note so Lottie has to fight her own demons as well as some she doesn’t know about yet in order to regain control. I love this character and want to cheer at every hurdle she manages to stumble over and fall on the right side. She has a fire in her that makes her defensive and at times mouthy but I must admit I did enjoy her knock some people off their pedestals scenes and her don’t give a damn attitude that goes with it.

This story is violent from the start, with some pretty wicked murders along the way with characters that have more than one reason for wanting some of them dead. It is a little like untangling xmas lights that you know it is going to be quite spectacular when you solve the puzzle. The short sharp shocking chapters just create the fast pace of the story even more as it just goes from one discovery to another. There are some pretty big shocks in this book that open up larger holes rather than solve problems which makes the thought of the next book even more enticing.

Many thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for this book which I have reviewed honestly

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Patricia lives in the midlands of Ireland. She is an avid crime reader so naturally she found herself writing in the crime genre. thumbnail2

A life changing experience in 2009, with the death of her 49 year old husband, meant she had to give up her career, and over the following few years, she rekindled her love of art and writing. 

Initially Patricia wrote and illustrated a children’s book, but her real ambition was to write a novel. And she did!

In January 2016, she joined with Ger Nichol of The Book Bureau Literary Agency. In July 2016, Patricia signed with Bookouture for four DI Lottie Parker crime novels. 

The Missing Ones (Book 1) published in March 2017 and to date has reached a high of number 2 in Amazon UK Kindle charts and number 6 in the US. It also achieved number 1 in all its categories. It is a bestseller in UK, US, Canada and Australia.

Book 2 in the series, The Stolen Girls, published on July 6th, 2017.

Book 3, The Lost Child, published on October 27th, 2017.

 

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/patricia.gibney1

Twitter: https://twitter.com/trisha460

Website: http://patriciagibney.com/

thumbnail

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.