The Mistake by K. L. Slater #BlogTour @Bookouture @KimLSlater

Firstly I wish to thank Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to be part of the Blog Tour for The Mistake by K. L. Slater

The Mistake: An unputdownable psychological thriller with a brilliant twist by [Slater, K.L.]

BOOK DESCRIPTION

You think you know the truth about the people you love.

But one discovery can change everything…

Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later, he is found dead.

Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy’s death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother?

Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, who she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him… and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.

Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger…

The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top ten bestselling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

UK 🇬🇧 http://amzn.to/2sVKvvy
US 🇺🇸 http://amzn.to/2sy0Nvn

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

Rose is a crushed woman, ok she has over the last 16 years muddled through life existing but not living, not trusting and definitely not falling in love. I mean how could she when her brother was dead because of her and her parents had never been the same. They had both died a while ago so now it was just her. But the nightmares had come back and all because of a kindly neighbour that lived next door.

This is my first K. L. Slater novel and I am over the moon that I have finally read one of her books. Set in two-time zones the first the months leading up to 8-year-old Billy’s disappearance and murder while he had been in Rose’s care and present day when an accidental discovery of an item from that fateful day throws her into turmoil.

What a brilliant story, I don’t really want to go in to too much detail because that would take the edge from it. I was immersed in this story from the very first chapter with both time lines taking my breath with events that were happening. My heart was breaking for the loss of innocence of a young naive girl in such a wicked way and my heart was pounding for the woman in present day as she had to face the past and find a future.

I connected with Rose straight away, who even as an adult still seemed child like at times stuck in the past and not wanting to really grow up. Kim Slater tells a wicked story and I mean wicked as this is so darn good. I still shudder at the thought of a particular nasty piece of work even 16 years later. He made my blood run cold and although I was only reading words they penetrated into my mind like it was him staring at me. God damn it he scared the heebie-jeebies out of me.

A fantastic story and definite must read.

I wish to thank the publisher for an ARC of this book which I have reviewed honestly

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Screenshot_20171004-082617.jpg

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I studied for an English & Creative Writing degree followed by an MA in Creative Writing.

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture is called ‘Safe with Me’ and it actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree.

The creepy voice of Anna came to me strong and insistent . . . she wanted to be written, she wouldn’t go away.

I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; my daughter, Francesca and Mac’s sons Nathan and Jake.

I also write multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

 

Screenshot_20171004-082651.jpg

 

8 thoughts on “The Mistake by K. L. Slater #BlogTour @Bookouture @KimLSlater

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s