Deadly lies By Chris Collett #BlogTour @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Firstly I wish to thank Jill Burkinshaw of Joffe Books for inviting me to take part on this Blog Tour for DEADLY LIES by Chris Collett

36309535

BOOK DESCIPTION

Discover a new detective in a tough city. DI Tom Mariner thinks he’s seen it all, but now he faces an investigation which will push him to his limits.

Journalist Eddie Barham is found dead in his home. A syringe in his arm and a note by his side reading, ‘No More.’

Open and shut case of suicide? Not for DI Mariner. Hours before, he saw Barham picking up a prostitute in a bar. Mariner discovers Barham’s younger brother, Jamie, hiding in a cupboard under the stairs.

Jamie must have witnessed his brother’s death, but his severe autism makes communication almost impossible. Mariner is determined to connect with Jamie and get to the truth. And is the journalist’s death related to his investigation of a local crime kingpin?

What other dark secrets does Jamie hold the key to and can Mariner keep his relationship professional with Barham’s attractive sister, Anna?

In a nail-biting conclusion Mariner races against time to prevent more lives being lost.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the first book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVES

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

Police Constable Tony Knox has recently transferred to the West Midlands force and finds himself back in uniform following an undisclosed transgression. A scouser with the gift of the gab, and an irrepressible ladies’ man, Knox is initially wary of the inscrutable DI Mariner, but, when a need arises, is grateful for his unquestioning support and the lack of curiosity about his personal life.

PRAISE FOR MARINER
I really couldn’t put it down’ Raw Edge Magazine

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character. This is a fitting follow-up to her debut and reassures the crime fan that the police procedural is in safe hands. More, please’
Yorkshire Post

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

What begins as a reluctant business women having her autistic brother dumped on her ends in one of the most intense and mind-blowing endings. It is like a gentle breeze that simply turns her life into a tornado. What a journey! It makes a brilliant book to read and one impossible to put down.

Anna really always resented her younger brother Jamie as the attention that should have been hers with her parents had been given to him. Jamie that needed 24 hour care, Jamie who her father spent all his spare time researching his condition, JAMIE, JAMIE, JAMIE! After her parents death Anna’s only other brother Eddie had taken on the fully time caring role and now the police say he has overdosed, dead and oh yeah here is your 29-year-old autistic brother that we found in a cupboard. Career woman Anna’s world just disintegrated.

Now this would have made a cracking story in its own right but no, Chris Collett just takes the whole thing and literally throws in murder and the most unexpected turns that will put their lives in danger then tops it off with a little chance of romance. I was left buzzing. DI Tom Mariner is the main man on the job, with at times the help of Anna. Loved Mariner a super DI that has a knack of working things out but with a heart too.

I really loved seeing how characters changed in this story from the circumstances they found themselves in. It was heart breaking to read some of the scenes with Jamie but also some of the most moving moments from such small gestures. The author has definitely researched this condition extensively.

The idea of a character list of who is who and what their role is a brilliant idea along with the quite extensive Glossary of English slang for US readers. This is a big must read from me. I so want more of the same!

 

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Screenshot_20171001-172109.jpg

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.


Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Screenshot_20171001-172155.jpg

One thought on “Deadly lies By Chris Collett #BlogTour @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.