The One With All the Pain by Robin Roughley #New Release #(DS Lasser 15) @RobRoughley



The man is in love with the flames, always has been. There is something about fire that thrills him and draws him in, but now his urges have taken a darker turn and he needs the screams of the innocents to match the roaring of the furnace heat.
Lasser is still trying to come to terms with the death of a well-loved colleague, his mind burdened with pain and guilt, so when they find the charred remains in the woods it jolts him back to the here and now with savage intensity.
Soon, he is forced to admit that someone is out there, someone with an all-consuming hatred, someone who wants to burn the world.
While the flames rise and the bodies writhe in agony, Lasser is caught in a deadly chase as he tries to catch the killer before he puts his ultimate plan into action.
Though there is another at work, someone who uses the tools at his disposal to take his revenge on those who made him suffer.
Caught between the two, Lasser walks a tightrope of death, with one slip meaning a fall into the inferno below and an end to all he knows and loves.



I have been reading this series right from the first book, The Needle House, and can’t believe that this is now Book 15. As much as anything I love that the author, Robin Roughley, doesn’t leave me for very long before the next one is done and dusted. That of course means that the core of the characters story lines are still fresh in my mind so that I don’t need to recap about where I left them. The books can be read as stand alone but to be honest these characters have come to feel like family. I just love the ongoing stories of each of their very intertwined lives.

Where do I start. I loved this book. It’s a full on get your adrenaline rush going straight away read along with the hyper tension as you then worry about the characters that you instantly connect with. There are some really creepy moments in this one, the ones that gave me that shoulder shudder after a wave of goose bumps. With Robin Roughley books though the horror is well balanced out with the banter and dry humour throughout the stories that make me giggle away. Just brilliant! I flew through this book at an incredible speed. Absolutely loved it!

What should have been a fun-filled night out at an event turned out to be a night of horror for a young couple and a night of total fascination for another young man. A dangerous seed had been set in his mind and one day it would spark up.

A few years later when a spate of horrendous murders begin to happen in pretty quick succession, it is for Lasser, Odette and Bannister to determine if it is the work of one person or more and if there is any kind of connection between the victims. This I think is one of the hardest cases that the team have worked on, it’s not that the criminals of Wigan have all of a sudden become more devious, but more that Lasser and Odette had lost their way. If anything can rekindle their friendship, it’s a case like this.

Whoa this story really brings a heat wave to Wigan in the most scariest way. Robin Roughley is a very descriptive author that makes it easy to see everything that he writes but he also captures the horrors you can hear too. I really can’t imagine a worst death but it is how he describes the reaction of the killers that make these scenes the scariest around. There is an intensity about them. The ultimate fix that after the first time needs to be chased again for that buzz but with a little bit more each time. A real compulsion that can’t be stopped. A bit like reading these books.

Each time I begin one of these books I promise myself I will saviour every page but no, after the first couple of chapters I just can’t stop and by the time I am nearing the end I am in a reading frenzy and he does it every time.

I just love these books, it is definitely my favourite series.


Rob Roughley lives in the North West of England (God’s coal bunker, the land of the wedding cake made by placing three meat pies on top of one another and whippets on lengths of string)
He is the author of eight crime/thriller novels featuring DS Lasser. The novels are set between the run down streets of a northern town and the beautiful yet desolate west Pennine moors.
If you love your crime fiction crammed with square jawed heroes driving flash cars and glorious women who shimmer with inner light, then the DS Lasser novels are not for you.
However, if you prefer your characters to be flawed, with a sprinkling of dandruff and old acne scars,the plots to be laced with dark humour, then give them a try.





Product Details
Product Details
Stations of the Cross: A cracking DS Lasser crime mystery
Also Books Related to the DS Lasser Series
Plymouth Series 1
Stormcock: A compelling new series from the author of  the DS Lasser crime novels. (Plymouth Book 1)
Robin Roughley also signed a three book deal with BLOODHOUND BOOKS earlier this year, Marnie Hammond is the gutsy DI in this new series.

3 thoughts on “The One With All the Pain by Robin Roughley #New Release #(DS Lasser 15) @RobRoughley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.