The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis #BlogTour #GuestPost #NewRelease @JoffeBooks

I was delighted to be asked by Jill Burkinshaw to be  part of this Blog Tour for THE FOURTH FRIEND by Joy Ellis

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Looking for your next unputdownable mystery? Then try this book by #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

FOUR LOST FRIENDS. FOUR TASKS TO COMPLETE. ONE BIG MYSTERY LEFT.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. So for each of his four friends he decides to complete something that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

DI Jackman and DS Evans of the Fenland police face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the shocking ending.

What readers are saying about THE FOURTH FRIEND

“I really couldn’t put this one down, it is a real page turner and I didn’t guess the end. Could be the best Joy Ellis book yet.” Barbara

Loved this book.” Elaine

“Well written with twists and turns that allow you to think you have solved it … believe me you won’t see the ending until the last pages.” Clare

“The story kept me gripped from the beginning and I certainly didn’t foresee that ending.” Nerys

“Another amazing read by the brilliant author Joy Ellis.” Grea Halliday

“The tension started immediately as the reader wonders what will become of Carter McLean and continues throughout the book.” Joyce Fox

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS
THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

JACKMAN & EVANS
Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON
Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND

 

I AM DELIGHTED TO WELCOME YOU TO A LOVELY GUEST POST BY JOY ELLIS

The DI Jackman and DS Marie Evans series

Many years ago I had the idea that I would like to create a series of books under the heading of the Marshland Mysteries. They would cover a huge area of the Fens, and involve several different divisions of the fictional Fenland Constabulary. I wanted the books to have connections and overlaps, but was told rather bluntly, that it wouldn’t work.
I didn’t believe that, but I did rethink things.
I had been considering several ideas for characters for crime novels, and in the end came down to two; DI Nikki Galena, and DI Rowan Jackman. I then wrote two full length novels, Crime on the Fens, originally titled Mask Wars, with Nikki as the protagonist, and The Murderer’s Son, using Jackman.
Nikki’s Fen Series took off, but I remembered how much I had enjoyed writing the Jackman book, and my new and quite amazing publisher Jasper Joffe, loved it too. “Always write what you love,” were his words. “So why not write another?” And that resulted in Their Lost Daughters. Now we have The Fourth Friend, and I think this one in particular, showcases the difference in the two series.
With the Jackman novels, there is always a very strong psychological element, and the tormented soul, be they hero or villain, plays a major role with considerable focus on their POV. There are often moral dilemmas for Jackman and Marie; things occur that are not dealt with within the pages of Butterworth’s Police Law, and are very difficult for police officers to deal with. Very often, I allow the two detectives to put aside the rule books, and simply react as caring and decent human beings.
To be honest, as a writer, I cannot choose between the two series as a favourite, the characters are my friends and I care about them all. But… the research for the Jackman novels really grips me. I understand a little more than some, about living and sharing a life with a loved one with psychological problems, so really hope that my portrayal of these characters has a good degree of empathy and understanding. I sincerely hope so.

 

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Screenshot_20170827-220819

 

I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the Sixties and Seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early Eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our two second generation Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I can, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre was suddenly clear. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!

I am now lucky enough to have joined the amazing Joffe Books team of authors and am really enjoying being able to spend time doing what I love… writing!

Screenshot_20170830-061518

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis #BlogTour #GuestPost #NewRelease @JoffeBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.