STORMCOCK by ROBIN ROUGHLEY (Plymouth series #1) @robroughley


Think you know about vengeance? Then think again.
For over five years Abe Mathews has been hunting the white-haired assassin.
Obsession and vengeance drives him and at last he is close to bringing the man named Plymouth to justice.
Though Plymouth is playing a deadlier game. One in which he is putting his life in the crosshairs in order to bring the guilty forward and he will stop at nothing to inflict his own horrific brand of retribution.
However, as Mathews draws closer to his quarry he is forced to question the truth about the man with the blue eyes and savage smile.
There are others who will cross any line to kill Plymouth those who have suffered beyond imagining at his hands.
As the noose tightens and people start to die, Mathews must decide who he can trust before the clock stops ticking.
Meanwhile, Plymouth relentlessly draws out those who want to see him dead in an electrifying game of life and death that will have a devastating impact on those unwittingly pulled into the vortex of violence.



Well this is a bit of a win, win, situation because although this is Book 1 in the new Plymouth series, Plymouth is also a tremendously well known character that pops up periodically in the super DS Lasser books. (The ink is already drying on number 15, not that I am drooling or anything). I was so excited about this book because Robin Roughley has created a real top notch psycho hit man that makes this lady and a lot of others weak at the mention of his name. Plymouth has gained his own unique groupies.

At 34 Plymouth has learnt how to blend, just as well because with his white hair, piercing blue eyes and model like physic he is more than eye catching. So it isn’t long before he has a very flattered hotel receptionist, Bethany, by his side treating her to the very best in sophistication and now with the ability to just be a couple rather than a lone man. This gives him access to far more places to blend in at while working.  Plymouth had been hired to do a job but there are also people out there to hunt him down and not all of them are on the same side. He is always focused on a kill but there will always be collateral damage.

When there are so many bad guys then police involvement is definitely on the cards. Abe Mathews has been hunting down Plymouth for the last 5 years and he has never been this close before. What Mathews saw all those years ago haunts him, he wants justice for a dead family. There is also DI Fay Ferry and John August. I am still not sure of Fay, she is a very in your face kind of impulsive woman that can only see a target not the danger for her or anyone else. Then there is John August, he is a really nice guy and sort of watches over Fay. They balance each other out pretty well.

This a cracking story and perfect introduction to what makes Plymouth tick. It sort of gives you a taster of the cool, calm and calculated killer in the first chapter, then establishes the other characters a little before wakening all of your brain cells to new methods of causing physical pain and eventually death for victims. There is far more to Plymouth than you first think. A brilliant read and ready for more. Robin Roughley is doing what he is best at, mayhem, mystery and murder. Excellent!



Robin Roughley lives in Wigan in the North West of England (God’s coal bunker) the land of the pie, clogs and whippets.
He is the author of sixteen crime/thriller novels fourteen of which feature the force of nature that is DS Lasser. He also writes the haunting DS Marnie Hammond series for Bloodhound Publishing and Stormcock the first in the explosive Plymouth series.
If you love your crime fiction crammed with square jawed heroes driving flash cars and glorious women who shimmer with inner light, then the novels are probably not for you.
However, if you prefer your characters to be flawed, with a sprinkling of dandruff and old acne scars, the plots to be laced with dark humour, then give them a try.


DS Lasser Crime Series

1 The Needle House
2 The Way that it Falls
3 Tethered to the Dead.
4 Twisted
5 More Equal than Others
6 Vanished Beneath
7 Riven
8 Bad Self
9 Crave
10 Moment Back
11 Conspiracy of Ravens
12 Dark Necessities
13 Living Ashes
14 Stations of the Cross


DS Marnie Hammond Series

1 Keep You Near


Plymouth Series

1 Stormcock



Please feel free to contact me at

you can also keep in touch via facebook,

or twitter @robroughley

or at

Many thanks for taking the time to read the books and I look forward to hearing from you.

4 thoughts on “STORMCOCK by ROBIN ROUGHLEY (Plymouth series #1) @robroughley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.