Before I Left by Daisy White #Blog Tour @DaisyWhite1922 @JoffeBooks

I wish to thank Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for inviting me to take part on this tour for BEFORE I LEFT  by DAISY WHITE

A LONG HOT SUMMER, A CITY BY THE SEA, AND A SERIAL KILLER ON THE LOOSE.

Nineteen-year-old runaway Ruby Baker and pregnant best friend Mary escape domestic violence in London to find a new home in Brighton. They join a glitzy set of party girls, who are hell-bent on enjoying themselves in the new freedom of the 1960s.

But their new life soon comes under threat. Someone is watching Ruby. A tall stranger who Ruby keeps spotting in the shadows. This man may have followed them from London. And Ruby fears her dark secret will be exposed.

Then a murder at a local beauty spot brings danger for the party-loving set, and the first murder is followed by a second. Rumours of occult sacrifices spread across town.

In a breathtaking conclusion, Ruby faces a race against time to save someone very close to her, and her new life may be destroyed and her secrets exposed.

Discover a gripping new writer today. Great for fans of Lisa Jewell, Angela Marsons, or LJ Ross.

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

Loved this book that I opened up and found myself straight into the 1960’s, what a fabulous era. A time when you worked hard so that you could party even harder, well that was what it was like for Ruby and Mary now that they were making new lives for themselves in Brighton. Life was certainly looking up for them both, Ruby’s former life in Croydon was sketchy but mother to be Mary had dodged an abusive marriage. It was behind them now, a place to live, both landing on their feet with apprentice hairdressing jobs and of course Ruby’s stalker. Thought I would just throw that one in. Not that she knew about it yet but definitely there all the same. Now I have that tingle down my back, the thought of someone watching when you don’t know just really creeps me out and I am still fairly at the beginning of the book. Yikes!

It is Pearl, Ruby’s cousin that has helped them fit into their new lives with their jobs, accommodation and of course the crazy parties but a series of murders begin to take place but of course it is something that always happens to someone else, that is until a girl in their group becomes a victim. This now close band of friends decide to do some digging about themselves. What they uncover takes them to some pretty unexpected dark places.

This is quite an uneasy read at times, for one you don’t know why Ruby has left Croydon so quickly and for another has any of these murders anything directly to do with them? There are so many possibilities which I shall leave you to discover. It really does get to be an edge of your seat read. What memorable characters too. It is really funny how with some characters you give them accents when you read, well this book was like that for me. One of my favourite characters was Johnnie who owned the hairdressers where the girls worked, but everyone stands out each one memorable. Do also check out the glossary in the back of the book for words and slang used in this era. Looking forward to more of the same.

I wish to thank Jill Burkinshaw and Joffe Books for an ARC of this novel which I have reviewed honestly.

 

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

DAISY WHITE is a multi-award winning entrepreneur and author. Her Ruby Baker adult crime series is published by Joffe Books – the first book, ‘Before I Left’ is out on July 20th. she also has the YA Tigers Trilogy with Fire & Ice YA Books, plus YA Cloud Red with Limitless Books. In addition to her traditionally published work Daisy also self-published her YA bestseller Roadkill in 2012, at the beginning of her writing journey!
Daisy would like to thank everyone who has taken the time to read and review her books, as she learns something new from each critique.

website; http://www.daisywhiteauthor.co.uk

http://daisywhiteauthor.co.uk/press/

http://www.joffebooks.com/

https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=daisywhiteauthor

Twitter @DaisyWhite1922

Screenshot_20170715-132450

3 thoughts on “Before I Left by Daisy White #Blog Tour @DaisyWhite1922 @JoffeBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.