The Man Upstairs by Mark Fowler #Blog Tour @MFowlerAuthor @CarolineBookBit

Firstly I wish to thank Caroline Vincent for the invite on take part on this Blog Tour for The Man Upstairs by Mark Fowler.


Frank Miller, hero of the best-selling mystery novels written by The Man Upstairs, works the weird streets of Chapeltown as a private detective. During the legendary case of the Black Widow everything changed when Frank became aware of his fictional existence. Proclaimed at the time as a work of genius, Frank wonders if it was the first sign that The Man Upstairs was sick. This latest case, involving the death of a care worker, and coinciding with the appointment of Chapeltown’s first elected mayor, has Frank baffled. The Man Upstairs appears to be losing the plot, giving the womanising Frank a steady girlfriend, Marge, who warns him that to survive he must change from the tired cliché that he has become. As the case darkens Frank recognises the depth of his creator’s sickness. His days are numbered as clearly as the pages in the books in which he features. The looming battle with the Mayor of Chapeltown is nothing less than the battle to save himself, Marge, the series – and the mind of The Man Upstairs. The Man Upstairs is plotting to kill Frank Miller and take Chapeltown to hell.


The Man Upstairs buying links

Amazon UK

Amazon US



How I love Mark Fowler’s books as I know that he just simply has his very own distinctive style of writing and well, here we go again, this is a little gem. What do the characters of books do in between the author having breaks? As a book lover I often think of characters I read about as people I care for, especially in a series. So what if they all have their own little lives? The author to Frank Miller, the main character in his book, is known as The Man Upstairs or TMU. There is that comparison of course that I couldn’t help but make between Frank’s concern of his fate being in the hands of his creator and me being in the hands of mine. Both our destinies controlled by our makers.

Frank soon becomes aware that things have changed that haven’t been written about and he has to investigate the possibility that his own existence may be on the line, especially after the election of a corrupt Mayor he knew nothing about. Being the star of 20 books in this series, Frank isn’t going to go easily.

It all sounds so very intriguing and to be honest it is. I liked Frank and his special lady in the blue pyjamas, it all just made me smile. It was like watching an old Bogart and Bacall movie play out, the sort of 1940’s spiel  of how they use to talk to each other, the characters names and of course the raincoat that just topped it all off. This is just the cherry on top type stuff, if of course you love the old Private Eye type detectives. Simply spiffing old boy! But will Frank make it to book 21?


Mark L. Fowler is the author of the novels Coffin Maker, The Man Upstairs, Silver, and Red Is The Colour, and more than a hundred short stories. His particular interests are in crime and mystery, psychological thrillers and gothic/horror fiction.  His first published novel, Coffin Maker, is a gothic tale set between our world and the Kingdom of Death. In the Kingdom the Coffin Maker lives a solitary existence, and every coffin he completes signals the end of a life in our world. One day he discovers that he is to be sent two apprentices, amid rumours that the devil is arriving on Earth.  Mark’s second novel, The Man Upstairs, features the hard-boiled detective, Frank Miller, who works the weird streets of Chapeltown. Having discovered that he is in fact the hero of twenty successful mystery novels, authored by The Man Upstairs, Frank has reasons to fear that this latest case might be his last.  In 2016, Silver, a dark and disturbing psychological thriller was published by Bloodhound Books. When a famous romance novelist dies in mysterious circumstances, she leaves behind an unfinished manuscript, Silver. This dark and uncharacteristic work has become the Holy Grail of the publishing world, but the dead writer’s family have their reasons for refusing to allow publication.  Red Is The Colour is Mark’s latest book, a crime mystery featuring two police detectives based in Staffordshire. The case involves the grim discovery of the corpse of a schoolboy who went missing thirty years earlier. Red Is The Colour is the first in a series featuring DCI Tyler and DS Mills, and will be published in July 2017 by Bloodhound Books.  The author contributed a short story, Out of Retirement, to the best-selling crime and horror collection, Dark Minds. Featuring many well-known writers, all proceeds from the sales of Dark Minds go to charity.  A graduate in philosophy from Leicester University, Mark lives in Staffordshire, and is currently writing a follow up to Red Is The Colour. When he isn’t writing he enjoys time with family and friends, watching TV and films, playing guitar/piano and going for long walks.



Amazon   Author Page

Facebook  Author Page




Coffin Maker

Amazon UK

Amazon US


The Man Upstairs

Amazon UK

Amazon US



Amazon UK

Amazon US




One thought on “The Man Upstairs by Mark Fowler #Blog Tour @MFowlerAuthor @CarolineBookBit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.