SECRETS OF THE DEAD by CAROL WYER #Blog Tour #(DI Robyn Carter #2) @carolewyer @Bookouture

Firstly I wish to thank Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me on the BLOG TOUR for SECRETS OF THE DEAD by Carol Wyer

35063606
BOOK DESCRIPTION

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Buy Links

UK http://amzn.to/2pAm1cU

US http://amzn.to/2q17Df2

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW
 I absolutely loved the first book in the DI Robyn Carter series but OMG Secrets of the Dead has to be the icing on the cake with a cherry on the top! When Carol Wyer went from romantic comedy to crime thriller I really had to think can she pull this off. Well let me say she arrived with her first book and this one definitely means that she is here to stay! She has become the polar opposite in her writing from causing me to laugh till I cried to a dark side that can be matched to the best of any crime writer.
One of the things that makes these books very special to me is that I live locally to the area they are set in. I tell you there are some areas that I will give more than a second glance to now!  It was so exciting and made the characters feel so real knowing they were on street and roads I have travelled on. Once I started this book I knew I wouldn’t want to stop. The chapters are short and snappy making it one of those books that you think just one more chapter, which in turn becomes a couple of hundred pages as each one just picks up the pace and intensity that you can’t put the brakes on.
This is a brilliant story line and takes pay back to the ultimate end. As The Leopard strikes, the name the newspapers give the killer, with a tailored execution for each victim, a receipt is left with them, one that made me shiver. ‘All Debts Paid’.  I mean as if killing someone isn’t enough you got to admit that is some sort of creepy. What it does mean for the police is of course, that these crimes are easy to link, they are all connected to an event and revenge drives this nutter. Still a very hard puzzle to solve. I love a story with lots of threads that eventually come together.
The police force definitely have their work cut out with this one but DI Robyn Carter has that strong and forcefully determination to never give up. Love this DI that I found more about again in this book. What a team, they may not always agree and they may not always get it right but they have each others backs. I am so looking forward to more in this superb series.
HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR
As a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published by Safkhet and journalism in many magazines.
Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

6 thoughts on “SECRETS OF THE DEAD by CAROL WYER #Blog Tour #(DI Robyn Carter #2) @carolewyer @Bookouture

  1. Sue, I LOVE you! What an incredible review that has made me want to leap from my chair – hustle down to Lichfield and hug you (although maybe not by Stowe Pool, eh?)
    This is praise indeed and I can’t put into words how your review has made me feel – probably ‘elated’ cover sit. I’m so glad you enjoyed the second book as much as LITTLE GIRL LOST. I confess, I have been chewing my nails a lot, hoping that the first book wasn’t a one-hit-wonder. I now love writing thrillers and am quite comfortable here on the ‘dark side’, so be prepared for many more from me.
    Thank you for taking part in the book tour too. Have a great weekend and watch out for me leaping on you in Lichfield when you’re next there.

    Like

  2. I love it when I come across a book that is based in an area I know, I think it gives you a much better insight.
    This Author must be very talented to write chick lit and crime. Great review.
    Amanda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s