EVIE’S YEAR OF TAKING CHANCES by CHRISTIE BARLOW #Blog Tour #New Release #Romantic Comedy @ChristieJBarlow @Bookouture

Firstly I would like to thank Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me on the BLOG TOUR for

EVIE’S YEAR OF TAKING CHANCES by CHRISTIE BARLOW

 

33889655

BOOK DESCRIPTION

It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.
Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books – after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother.

Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past.

As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken?

A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

What a super story,  you just have to love a book that leaves you with that warm glowing feeling, and at this moment in time I could light up a small village. Wherever this place is I want to live there and be part of it. What lovely full bodied characters there are. Evie, although she had the roughest of starts finally became foster child of Irene and they were just perfect for each other. Although Evie is a young woman now and got her own place, she and her foster mum had even worked together at the library until Irene retired and they still went to book events together. It was like Irene was the common sense factor in Evie’s life, the one that taught her that not all the world is a bad place.

One of my favourite characters though has to be Evie’s newly acquired house mate, Clara. Clara was already Evie’s best friend and works with her at the library but she is more the good fun factor in Evie’s life, or to put it bluntly, the bad influence but in the best possible way. Just loved these two together.

Christie Barlow has not only created an abundance of romantic threads in this story that are all so very different, she has woven into these a couple of mysteries to be solved too. It all makes for a very exciting and heart warming read.  This is a super book for any chic lit lovers and book lovers too. You will find that you probably have quite a lot in common with the main characters, I certainly did. It is always  such a delight when this happens, the characters feel more real and you understand their line of thought.

Now the men in this book, well what can I say other than I really would like to live there. Seriously they are super characters that have their own insecurities too, crossed lines and misunderstanding. It all makes for a super read. A Lovely book, with a big recommend to buy.

 

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christie Barlow was born in Cheshire and had a successful career as a civil servant until she decided to trade it in for something more glamorous: ironing, mucking out chickens and horses and chasing a mad cocker spaniel while rearing four children. Christie wrote her debut novel, A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, as an example to her kids about realising their dreams.

https://www.facebook.com/ChristieJBarlow

www.christiebarlow.com

 unnamed-25

3 thoughts on “EVIE’S YEAR OF TAKING CHANCES by CHRISTIE BARLOW #Blog Tour #New Release #Romantic Comedy @ChristieJBarlow @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s