THE HIDDEN ISLAND by ANGELA CORNER #BlogTour #BloodhoundBooks #BlogHounds @angleaWcorner @BloodhoundBooks

Well firstly I wish to thank Bloodhound Books for inviting me to take part on this Blog Tour

51dmjh61xl

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Sex. Drugs. Murder.

Hidden behind the crystal seas and beautiful beaches of a Greek Island dark and dangerous secrets lurk. Beckett has had his fill of adrenaline fuelled criminal investigation and with a broken body and damaged career goes to the Greek Island of Farou to head up the Criminal Investigation Bureau. Serious crime is rare, the weather is great and the beer is cold but his ‘retirement’ is cut short when a pagan cult resurrects and bodies start showing up.

With doubts about his mental and physical ability to do the job, a British police detective is sent to help with the investigation. DI Lee Harper is everything Beckett is not – young, ambitious and by the book.

As well as tackling the new case Beckett must overcome the demons from his past.

Family loyalty, power and money are at the source of the investigation where appearance is everything and nothing is what is seems.

Can Beckett and Harper work together to find justice for the victims?

Will the idyllic island ever be the same again?

Sometimes paradise can be hell.

“This gritty thriller is a brilliantly plotted and refreshing read. Angela Corner is one to watch for those who like their books with a bit more bite” Betsy Reavley, best-selling author of The Quiet Ones, The Optician’s Wife and Frailty.

Angela Corner is a debut author who mastered her craft as as screenwriter on top serial dramas including Eastenders and Hollyoaks. The Hidden Island is the perfect read for fans of authors like Lisa Hall, Katerina Diamond, Kathryn Croft and Caroline Mitchell

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

This story is set on a beautiful Greek Island, an holiday paradise that is desperate to promote sun, sand and a place to party, not the place it is remembered for, a spree of murders by a serial killer. So when the body of a young woman is found murdered on a beach and another young woman is missing, it has that all too familiar feeling of deja vu. The prime concern is to keep it all quiet and solve the crime quickly.  Detective Beckett Kriakoulis had been the hero on that case and he is set to play a major role yet again, with the aide of Detective Inspector Lee Harper from the UK.
For me the coupling together of these odd ball detectives became as much entertainment as solving the two on going cases.  They both had fascinating background stories that had obviously left scars on their lives and at times a wonderful dry humour, mainly from Beckett, that bounced between him and  Harper. This was magic. The stories involving the victims were fascinating plots that I hadn’t guessed or even come close to the conclusion, definitely had the shock element. The ones that make your blood boil
This is a quick paced story which is easy to follow, a very well thought out plot with a little humour thrown in too.  I hope that this is just the beginning for this pair of detectives to work together again. I wish to thank Bloodhound  Books for providing me  with an ARC copy. I have chosen to do this review

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Angela Corner was born and bred in Lancashire but has moved ever further south in search of better weather. She currently lives in cider and strawberry country in the Wye Valley in South Herefordshire with her dogs, horses and a very understanding partner.

Angela’s writing life began after being made redundant from a career pretending to know about tax law. She did a Master’s Degree in Radio & TV Scriptwriting at Salford University and then spent eight years writing scripts for Channel 4’s Hollyoaks followed by a stint on Eastenders. But Angela’s writing ambition was always to become a novelist so the lives of beautiful teenagers and angry cockneys were swapped for the murder and skulduggery of crime fiction.

Angela is a serial reader of crime fiction and historical novels and is an avid watcher of TV crime drama, particularly anything Scandinavian and everything dark.

When she is not writing or doing internet research on how best to dispose of dead bodies she can be found riding her horses, walking her dogs or attempting to cook something edible for the understanding partner.

 

fb_img_1480524856632

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s