Dark Necessities (DS Lasser series Book 12)


Two families at war one terrible mistake.
When Chaz Finch drops the chunk of stone from the motorway bridge he sets off a chain of events that will decimate his family and leave him running from the white haired man with the bright crazed smile.
Lasser knows only too well that Plymouth is on the warpath and those responsible will suffer at his hands.
Though Lasser has problems of his own, Paul Conroy is an abuser an animal with no moral compass and Lasser knows he is already looking for his next victim and they have to catch him before he goes to ground.
As the stakes grow ever higher Lasser finds himself trapped in a maelstrom of murder and violence as the clock ticks away the seconds towards the ultimate confrontation.



Oh wow this has simply been a double dose of pure pleasure to read, with my all time favourite good guy D. S. Lasser and all time favourite bad ass, can’t get enough of him, hitman Plymouth, both appearing together again in Robin Roughley’s twelfth book in the series. You just know that you need to buckle up because it is going to be one hell of a ride with these two on board and it didn’t disappoint, from the beginning to the end. This is an awesome journey.

Well there is only one rule where Plymouth is concerned.

1) Don’t upset Plymouth’

So when a couple of “we think we are big gangster brothers” sort of take Plymouth’s car out, after throwing a little wobbler over a bit of graffiti by a rival gang, Plymouth is a bit more than upset, (see rule 1) and the population of people living in Wigan is going to reduce by rather a lot. This is just so wickedly gruesome and true to the style of Mr. Roughley’s writing, very inventive and highly descriptive.

Lasser, on the other hand, is one tough cookie but he does have the luck of the devil. The whole team are snowed under with a full work load with a paedophile being on top of the list, besides an unusually high number of dead people. (see rule 1) Not everything is doom and gloom as love is in the air too!

I have followed this author right from his very first book The Needle House and love every single book in the series. I just dread the thought of this series ever ending. It was lovely to recognise two characters from The Needle House in this book. It was like bumping into old friends and finding out how they had faired over this last almost 4 years, as they hadn’t had the best start in life.

Now would I recommend this book? No, I would recommend the whole series but it could be read as a stand alone novel if you wish. Absolutely superb!


Robin Roughley


Robin Roughley lives in Wigan in the the North West of England (God’s coal bunker) though he hopes to one day be released for good behaviour.
He is the author of eleven crime/thriller novels featuring DS Lasser. The novels are set between the run down streets of a northern town and the beautiful yet desolate west Pennine moors.
If you love your crime fiction crammed with square jawed heroes driving flash cars and glorious women who shimmer with inner light, then the DS Lasser novels are probably not for you.
However, if you prefer your characters to be flawed, with a sprinkling of dandruff and old acne scars, the plots to be laced with dark humour, then give them a try.
1 The Needle House
2 The Way that it Falls
3 Tethered to the Dead.
4 Twisted
5 More Equal than Others
6 Vanished Beneath
7 Riven
8 Bad Self
9 Crave
10 Moment Back
11  Conspiracy of Ravens

twitter @RobinRoughley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.