THE KILLER INSIDE by KERRY WILKINSON

The Killer Inside (Detective Jessica Daniel, #1)

 

THE BLURB

You can lock the doors but the killer is already inside.

A gripping serial killer thriller for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Robert Bryndza.

When the body of a woman is found in a locked house, Detective Sergeant Jessica Daniel is called in to investigate a seemingly impossible murder.

Faced with little in the way of leads and a journalist who seems to know more than she does, Jessica is under intense pressure to solve the case fast.

When a second body is discovered bearing the same hallmarks of the first victim, the investigation suddenly escalates. Jessica is on the hunt for a serial killer who will strike again. Can she get to him before the body count rises? And is she prepared to put her own life in terrible danger to catch the murderer?

An intense and compelling edge-of-your-seat thriller full of twists and turns. Discover Kerry Wilkinson’s crime series today.

 

HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS AND REVIEW

It does seem strange to be reviewing this novel as the first book in a series for its publication in USA when in the UK we are on book 10. That should be a massive indication to new readers though about just how brilliant and successful this series is. So make sure you buy and read this now and not have to play catch up when it gets further into the series.

Kerry Wilkinson delivers a novel that doesn’t just pose the question of why and who has committed a murder but also, How the hell is that even possible? sort of scenario, a puzzle to solve and a connection to make. He is definitely the King of mystery novels but of course he has created for his readers D.S. Jessica Daniel of The Crime Investigation Department of the Greater Manchester Police and she is of course the Queen of solving such problems along with the rest of the team.

This is a well balanced story with Jessica’s professional and personal lives giving it a more real feel.
The characters are memorable and I really did enjoy trying to solve the puzzle of the houses and the reason behind the brutal murders.

I wish to thank Netgalley and Bookouture for allowing me to read this novel in exchange for an honest review.

 

HERE IS A LITTLE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson has been busy since turning thirty.

His first Jessica Daniel novel, Locked In, is a number one ebook bestseller, while the series as a whole has sold one million copies.

He has written a fantasy-adventure trilogy for young adults, a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus the standalone thriller, Down Among the Dead Men.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Find out more at: http://kerrywilkinson.com, http://facebook.com/JessicaDanielBooks and http://facebook.com/SilverBlackthorn

Recent & upcoming releases:
SOMETHING HIDDEN (Andrew Hunter 2): 28 July 2016
– NO PLACE LIKE HOME (standalone Christmas crime): late 2016
– NOTHING BUT TROUBLE (Jessica Daniel): early 2017
– TEN BIRTHDAYS (standalone): Spring 2017
– THE DEATH AND LIFE OF ELEANOR PARKER (standalone): Autumn 2017

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s